Santana Dance of the Rainbow Serpent (3-CD Box Set)

Dance of the Rainbow Serpent (3-CD Box Set)
17 ratings
Only 5 copies left
SUPER SAVINGS: $44.74 Limited Time Only
List Price: $49.98
You Save: $5.24 (10% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 1-3 business days
Format:  CD  (3 Discs)
sku:  YWVJ
on most orders of $50+
Brand New

Related products:

CD Details

  • Number of Discs: 3
  • Released:
  • Originally Released: 1997
  • Label: Sony

Tracks on Disc 1:

  • Buy for $1.291.Evil Ways
  • 2.Soul Sacrifice - (from "Woodstock 1")
  • Buy for $0.993.Black Magic Woman / Gypsy Queen
  • Buy for $0.994.Oye Como Va - (Spanish)
  • Buy for $0.995.Samba Pa Ti
  • Buy for $0.996.Everybody's Everything
  • Buy for $0.997.Song of the Wind
  • Buy for $0.998.Toussaint L'Overture - (Spanish)
  • Buy for $0.999.In a Silent Way
  • Buy for $0.9910.Waves Within
  • 11.Flame Sky
  • Buy for $0.9912.Naima

Tracks on Disc 2:

  • Buy for $0.991.I Love You Much Too Much
  • Buy for $0.992.Blues For Salvador
  • Buy for $0.993.Aqua Marine
  • Buy for $0.994.Bella
  • Buy for $0.995.The River
  • Buy for $0.996.I'll Be Waiting
  • Buy for $0.997.Love Is You
  • Buy for $0.998.Europa (Earth's Cry Heaven's Smile)
  • Buy for $0.999.Move On
  • 10.Somewhere in Heaven
  • Buy for $0.9911.Open Invitation

Tracks on Disc 3:

  • Buy for $0.991.All I Ever Wanted
  • Buy for $0.992.Hannibal
  • Buy for $0.993.Brightest Star
  • 4.Wings of Grace
  • 5.Se Eni a Fe L'Amo-Kere Kere
  • Buy for $0.996.Mudbone
  • 7.The Healer
  • 8.Chill Out (Things Gonna Change)
  • Buy for $0.999.Sweet Black Cherry Pie - (previously unreleased)
  • Buy for $0.9910.Every Now and Then - (previously unreleased)
  • Buy for $0.9911.This Is This

Product Description:

The 1997 release of DANCE OF THE RAINBOW SERPENT is packaged in a bin-fitting slipcase.
Santana includes: Carlos Santana (guitar); Gregg Rolie (vocals, keyboards); Tom Coster, Chester Thompson (keyboards); Michael Shrieve, Graham Lear (drums); Jose Areas, Armando Peraza (percussion).
Additional personnel includes: John Lee Hooker, Larry Graham, The Waters Family (vocals); Vernon Reid, Neal Schon, John McLaughlin, Jimmie Vaughan (guitar); Kim Wilson (harmonica); Wayne Shorter (saxophone); Tower Of Power Horn Section (horns); Booker T. Jones, Joe Zawinul (keyboards); Alphonso Johnson, Victor Bailey (bass); Peter Erskine (drums); Pete Escovedo, Airto Moreira, Babatunde Olatunji, Mino Cinelu (percussion).
Includes liner notes by Carlos Santana.
"Every Now And Then" was nominated for a 1996 Grammy Award for Best Rock Instrumental Performance.
Guitarist Carlos Santana continues to record music, but when contemplating his body of work, it's difficult not to telescope to the "vintage" 1969-1975 period, from first albums Santana and Abraxas through to Lotus. Dance of the Rainbow Serpent offers a well-rounded, three-disc overview of his career, but its the sultry Latin rhythms and stinging guitar of the early years -- captured on disc one, subtitled Heart -- that prove most invigorating. The obvious hits like "Evil Ways" and "Black Magic Woman" are all included of course, although these are scorched by the speedy pyrotechnics of the likes of "Toussaint Overture" from Lotus. The second disc, mistitled Soul, covers material that is, to be kind, bland and overproduced. Without the Latin edge, there's nothing to distinguish the contents from a hundred other MOR performers. Third disc Spirit is more diverse and satisfying; delving into the funkier examples of his later work, plus sessions with John Lee Hooker (including hit "The Healer") and previously unreleased material (including a workout with Living Color's Vernon Reid). In all, plenty here to chew on for fans of Santana's fluid, spiritual style -- with one of three discs left to gather. ~ Roch Parisien

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating:
Based on 17 ratings.
Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!

Similar Products

Music Categories:
Get Email Alerts for Santana

Product Info

  • UPC: 074646460528
  • Shipping Weight: 0.98/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 3 items

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-11pm, Weekends: 10am-10pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)