Electric Light Orchestra The Collection [Box Set] (3-CD Box Set)

The Collection [Box Set] (3-CD Box Set)
Price: $31.06
Available: Usually ships in 1-3 business days
Format:  CD  (3 Discs)
sku:  VA69
on most orders of $50+
Brand New

Related products:

CD Details

  • Number of Discs: 3
  • Released:
  • Originally Released: 2005
  • Label: Sony

Tracks on Disc 1:

  • 1.Fire on High
  • 2.Waterfall
  • 3.Evil Woman
  • 4.Nightrider
  • 5.Poker
  • 6.Strange Magic
  • 7.Down Home Town
  • 8.One Summer Dream

Tracks on Disc 2:

  • 1.Tightrope
  • 2.Telephone Line
  • 3.Rockaria!
  • 4.Mission (A World Record)
  • 5.So Fine
  • 6.Livin' Thing
  • 7.Above the Clouds
  • 8.Do Ya
  • 9.Shangri-La

Tracks on Disc 3:

  • 1.Shine a Little Love
  • 2.Confusion
  • 3.Need Her Love
  • 4.The Diary of Horace Wimp
  • 5.Last Train to London
  • 6.Midnight Blue
  • 7.On the Run
  • 8.Wishing
  • 9.Don't Bring Me Down
  • 10.One the Run - (previously unreleased, bonus track)
  • 11.Second Time Around - (previously unreleased, bonus track)
  • 12.Little Town Flirt - (previously unreleased, bonus track)

Product Description:

Originally released as three separate albums, FACE THE MUSIC, A NEW WORLD RECORD and DISCOVERY.
Electric Light Orchestra: Jeff Lynne (vocals, guitar, piano, synthesizer); Kelly Groucett (vocals, bass); Richard Tandy (piano, clavinet, synthesizer); Bev Bevan (drums, percussions).
Producers include: Jeff Lynne.
Electric Light Orchestra: Jeff Lynne (vocals, guitar); Kelly Groucutt (vocals, bass guitar); Richard Tandy (guitar, piano, Clavinet, Moog synthesizer); Mik Kaminski (violin); Hugh McDowell, Melvyn Gale (cello); Bev Bevan (drums, percussion, background vocals).
This three-disc set collects three of ELO's classic late-'70s albums in their entirety, and as such, it's an excellent overview not only of Jeff Lynne's musical genius, but of commercial '70s pop as a whole. 1975's FACE THE MUSIC, 1976's A NEW WORLD RECORD, and 1979's DISCOVERY--1977's double-disc OUT OF THE BLUE is omitted for space--are as good as Top-40 pop got in the last half of the '70s, and hearing the three together sketches out the arc of Lynne's career. FACE THE MUSIC, ELO's fifth album, is slightly rough-edged, but its enormous hit singles paved the way for the staggeringly good A NEW WORLD RECORD, Lynne's best and most consistent work. After the overwhelming commercial success of OUT OF THE BLUE, DISCOVERY is a bit more self-consciously experimental, with new-wavish Vocoders and disco beats coloring the typically excellent songs. All three are simply essential.

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!

Similar Products

Music Categories:
Get Email Alerts for Electric Light Orchestra

Product Info

  • Sales Rank: 56,016
  • UPC: 827969762820
  • Shipping Weight: 0.74/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 3 items

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-11pm, Weekends: 10am-10pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)