Manu Dibango Makossa Man: The Very Best of Manu Dibango (2-CD)

Makossa Man: The Very Best of Manu Dibango (2-CD)
1 rating
Price: $14.38
List Price: $15.98
You Save: $1.60 (10% Off)
Currently Out of Stock: We'll get more as soon as possible
Notify Me When Available
Format:  CD  (2 Discs)
sku:  VA68
on most orders of $50+
Brand New

CD Details

  • Number of Discs: 2
  • Released: August 28, 2009
  • Label: Nascente

Tracks on Disc 1:

  • 1.Soul Makossa
  • 2.Big Blow
  • 3.Pepe Soup
  • 4.Afro-Soul
  • 5.Lagos Go Slow
  • 6.Ngolowake
  • 7.Soma Loba
  • 8.Miss Cavacha
  • 9.Bayam Sellam
  • 10.Motapo
  • 11.Nago Nago
  • 12.Groovy Flute
  • 13.Walking to Waza
  • 14.Soul Sister
  • 15.The Panther
  • 16.Senga
  • 17.Africadelic
  • 18.Oriental Sunset
  • 19.African Carnival
  • 20.Ekedi

Tracks on Disc 2:

  • 1.African Boogie
  • 2.Ah Freak Sans Fric
  • 3.Sun Explosion
  • 4.Reggae Makossa
  • 5.Bolingo City
  • 6.Choc 'n' Soul
  • 7.Bao Bao
  • 8.Abelley Sphere
  • 9.Dasiko
  • 10.Mouna Loba
  • 11.Ambiance Tropica
  • 12.Yekey Tenge

Product Description:

Personnel: Manu Dibango (saxophone).
Author: Manu Dibango.
Photographer: Jak Kilby.
Each Nascent‚ compilation has always been very respectable, providing an excellent career overview of the artist in question, even when he or she has fallen off the radar except to hardcore fans. This double-disc 32-track set by Manu Dibango from Cameroon -- and perhaps Africa's best-known saxophonist -- is no exception. Dibango became known internationally with his 1972 hit "Soul Makossa," but has been active as an solo artist and as a member of various bands and orchestras since the late '50s. This set goes through all of it, from his first recordings in 1960 and continuing right on through to the beginning of the 21st century. The late '70s and early '80s made Dibango an international dancefloor icon with his collaborations with Sly & Robbie, Bill Laswell, and Fran‡ois Kevorkian, as well as many others during the post-punk and Afro-funk years. His meld of dancefloor styles, folk melodies, layered percussion, and organic and synthetic sounds brilliantly complements his soulful phrasing and infectious melodies. This is the very best introduction to all of his work that is on compact disc. The package has sufficient liner notes and discographical information and excellent sound, and the price tag is unbeatable. ~ Thom Jurek

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!
Get Email Alerts for Manu Dibango

Product Info

  • UPC: 5014797137080
  • Shipping Weight: 0.26/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 2 items

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-11pm, Weekends: 10am-10pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)