Beginners Guide to Ska (3-CD)
by Various Artists

Beginners Guide to Ska (3-CD)
1 rating
Price: $14.38
List Price: $15.98
You Save: $1.60 (10% Off)
Currently Out of Stock: We'll get more as soon as possible
Notify Me When Available
Format:  CD  (3 Discs)
sku:  VA5R
on most orders of $50+
Brand New

CD Details

  • Number of Discs: 3
  • Released: June 22, 2009
  • Label: Nascente

Tracks on Disc 1:

  • 1.Guns of Navarone - The Skatalites
  • 2.Ska Beat - Alton Ellis
  • 3.Shank I Sheck - Baba Brooks & The Skatalites
  • 4.Penny Reel - Eric "Monty" Morris
  • 5.Dan de Lion [aka Don de Lion] - Don Drummond
  • 6.Four Seasons - Sir Lord Comic / The Skatalites
  • 7.Mother Banner - Justin Hinds
  • 8.Skaramont - Lester Sterling
  • 9.So Bad
  • 10.Contact - Roy Richards
  • 11.Rukumbine - Shenley Duffus
  • 12.Treasure Island - Don Drummond / Drumbago
  • 13.Mouth a Massy - Alton Ellis
  • 14.Vitamin A - Baba Brooks
  • 15.Rub Up, Push Up - Justin Hinds
  • 16.Malcolm X - The Skatalites
  • 17.Renegade - The Zodiacs
  • 18.Alley Pon [aka Alley Pang] - Don Drummond
  • 19.John & James - The Maytals
  • 20.Tribute to Nehru - The Skatalites

Tracks on Disc 2:

  • 1.African Queen - Ronald Wilson / The Skatalites
  • 2.Dance Crasher - Alton Ellis
  • 3.Royal Charlie - Charlie Organaire
  • 4.Next Door Neighbour - Owen & Leon Silvera
  • 5.Storm Warning
  • 6.Higher the Monkey Climbs, The - Justin Hinds
  • 7.Ba Ba Boom - The Jamaicans
  • 8.Only a Smile
  • 9.Don't Stay Away - Phyllis Dillon
  • 10.Why Birds Follow Spring - Alton Ellis
  • 11.The Tide Is High
  • 12.You Don't Care - The Techniques
  • 13.Such Is Life - Lord Creator
  • 14.Moonlight Lover - Joya Landis
  • 15.Wha' She Do Now - The Gaylads
  • 16.I've Got to Get Away
  • 17.Warfare
  • 18.Weather Report - The Tennors
  • 19.Sweet Soul Music
  • 20.Ali Baba

Tracks on Disc 3:

  • 1.Mirror in the Bathroom
  • 2.Too Much Pressure - The Selecter
  • 3.Ruder Than You - Bodysnatchers
  • 4.Hands Off She's Mine
  • 5.Ghost Town - The Specials
  • 6.Tear Up (Apartheid) - Potato 5
  • 7.Mixed Feelings - Jennie Bellestar
  • 8.Stack-A-Lee
  • 9.Bluebeat & Ska - Natural Rhythm
  • 10.Chango - Ska Cubano (Remix, remix)

Product Description:

Personnel: Rico Rodriguez (trombone).
This three-disc, 50-track box presents a nice concise history of ska, starting with classic sides like the Skatalites' "Guns of Navarone" and the Maytals' gospel-energized "John & James" from the 1960s Jamaican ska explosion on the first disc. The second disc covers the rapid evolution of ska into rocksteady and early roots reggae on the island with classics like Justin Hinds' folk-wise "The Higher the Monkey Climbs" and the Paragons' "The Tide Is High" (Blondie amped up but otherwise kept the same arrangement of "The Tide Is High" for their hit version a few years later). The third disc closes out the circle, documenting the British ska revival of the late '70s and early '80s and featuring the Specials' "Ghost Town" and Prince Buster's fascinating take on "Stack-A-Lee," among others. A lot is left out, of course, but the end result sketches out a nice history of where ska started and where it subsequently went. ~ Steve Leggett

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!

Product Info

  • UPC: 5014797136724
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 3 items

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-11pm, Weekends: 10am-10pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)