Dr. John The Definitive Pop (2-CD)

The Definitive Pop (2-CD)
10% OFF
Rating 5.0
1 rating
List Price: $26.96
Your Price: $24.26
You Save: $2.70 (10% Off)
Temporarily Out of Stock: We'll get more as soon as possible

Save for Later
Format: CD  (2 Discs)
Item:  EA 70814
Sorry, this product isn't currently available.
Enter your email address, we'll let you know when it's back in stock:

Related products:

CD Details

  • Number of Discs: 2
  • Released: September 12, 2006
  • Label: Elektra / WEA

Tracks on Disc 1:

  • 1.Gris-Gris Gumbo Ya Ya
  • 2.Mama Roux
  • 3.Jump Sturdy
  • 4.I Walk On Guilded Splinters
  • 5.Black Widow Spider
  • 6.Loop Garoo
  • 7.Wash, Mama, Wash
  • 8.Familiar Reality - Opening
  • 9.Iko Iko
  • 10.Somebody Changed The Lock
  • 11.Mess Around
  • 12.Junko Partner
  • 13.Tipitina
  • 14.Huey Smith Medley: High Blood Pressure / Don't You Just Know It / Well I'll Be John Brown
  • 15.Traveling Mood

Tracks on Disc 2:

  • 1.Right Place Wrong Time
  • 2.Such A Night
  • 3.Life
  • 4.Qualified
  • 5.I Been Hoodood
  • 6.Cold Cold Cold
  • 7.Quitters Never Win
  • 8.What Comes Around (Goes Around)
  • 9.Mos' Scocious
  • 10.Rite Away (Everybody Wanna Get Rich)
  • 11.Let's Make A Better World
  • 12.Honey Dipper
  • 13.Makin' Whoopee!
  • 14.Accentuate The Positive
  • 15.Goin' Back To New Orleans

Product Description:

Audio Remasterers: Dave Schultz; Dan Hersch; Bill Inglot.
Liner Note Author: John Tottenham.
Photographer: Richard Aaron.
Arrangers: Harold Battiste, Jr.; Allen Toussaint.
This entry in Rhino Records' extra-value double-CD best-of series collects some of the New Orleans musician Dr. John's most memorable recordings from throughout his long career. His breakthrough 1968 album GRIS-GRIS, which heavily influenced the Rolling Stones' EXILE ON MAIN STREET, yields cuts including the eerie "Gris Gris Gumbo Ya Ya," while tracks like "Iko Iko" and "Junco Partner" are taken from 1972's GUMBO, his covers album of New Orleans classics that exposed a whole new generation to that city's rich musical heritage. He's also joined by Rickie Lee Jones on "Makin' Whoopee!," from his 1989 album of American songwriting classics, IN A SENTIMENTAL MOOD.

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!
Email Icon
Get Email Alerts for Dr. John

Product Info:

  • Sales Rank: 97,029
  • UPC: 081227081423
  • Shipping Weight: 0.28/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 2 items

Top ranking titles in the Pop / Rock genre:

Top ranking CD: