Al Green The Hi Singles A's and B's (2-CD)

The Hi Singles A's and B's (2-CD)
2 ratings
Price: $20.68
Currently Out of Stock: We'll get more as soon as possible
Notify Me When Available
Format:  CD  (2 Discs)
sku:  H878
on most orders of $50+
Brand New

Related products:

CD Details

  • Released: July 3, 2000
  • Label: Hi Records Uk

Entertainment Reviews:

Uncut - 10/00, p.85
5 stars out of 5 - "...Hearing him in his matchless prime is hearing angels chuckle and satyrs sob..."

Tracks on Disc 1:

  • 1.I Want To Hold Your Hand
  • 2.What Am I Gonna Do With Myself
  • 3.One Woman
  • 4.Tomorrow's Dream
  • 5.You Say It
  • 6.Gotta Find A New World
  • 7.Right Now, Right Now
  • 8.All Because
  • 9.I Can't Get Next To You
  • 10.Ride Sally Ride
  • 11.Driving Wheel
  • 12.True Love
  • 13.Tired Of Being Alone
  • 14.Get Back Baby
  • 15.Let's Stay Together
  • 16.Look What You Done For Me
  • 17.La La For You
  • 18.I'm Still In Love With You
  • 19.Old Time Lovin'
  • 20.You Ought To Be With Me
  • 21.What Is This Feeling
  • 22.Call Me, Come Back Home
  • 23.What A Wonderful Thing Love Is
  • 24.Here I Am (Come And Take Me)
  • 25.I'm Glad You're Mine

Tracks on Disc 2:

  • 1.Livin' For You
  • 2.Ain't No Fun For Me
  • 3.Let's Get Married
  • 4.So Good To Be Here
  • 5.Sha-La-La (Make Me Happy)
  • 6.School Days
  • 7.L-O-V-E (Love)
  • 8.Wish You Were Here
  • 9.Oh Me, Oh My (Dreams In My Arms)
  • 10.Strong As Death (Sweet As Love)
  • 11.Full Of Fire
  • 12.Could I Be The One
  • 13.Let It Shine
  • 14.There's No Way
  • 15.Keep Me Cryin'
  • 16.There Is Love
  • 17.I Tried To Tell Myself
  • 18.Something

Product Description:

Personnel includes: Al Green (vocals); Mitchell Toles (guitar, sitar); Teenie Hodges (guitar); The Memphis Strings (strings); Andrew Love (alto saxophone); Ed Logan, Bill Easley, Lewis Collins (tenor saxophone); James Mitchell (baritone saxophone); Jake Hale, Jr., Wayne Jackson (trumpet); Jake Hale (trombone); Archie Turner, Michael Allen, James Brown (piano); Charles Hodges (organ); Leroy Hodges (bass); Howard Grimes (drums, bongos, congas); Gene Chrisman, Al Jackson (drums); Charl Chalmers, Sandra Rhodes (background vocals).
Recorded at Royal and Allied Studios, Memphis, Tennessee between 1969 and 1976. Includes liner notes by Geoff Brown.
Personnel: Michael Toles (guitar, sitar); Mabon "Teenie" Hodges (guitar); The Memphis Horns (strings); Andrew Love (alto saxophone); Bill Easley, Ed Logan, Lewis Collins (tenor saxophone); James Mitchell (baritone saxophone); Jack Haley, Jr., Wayne Jackson (trumpet); Jackie Thomas, Jack Hale (trombone); James K. Brown , Michael Allen, Archie Turner (piano); Charles H. Berg (organ); Howard Grimes (drums, congas, bongos); Gene Chrisman, Al Jackson, Jr. (drums); Rhodes, Charles Chalmers (background vocals).
Liner Note Author: Geoff Brown .
Recording information: Allied Recording Studio, Memphis, TN; Royal Recording Studio, Memphis, TN.
A marvelous idea that hopefully other companies emulate, these 43 tracks feature both sides of Al Green's Hi Records singles, in sequence. The uneven number of tracks (43), suggests that a track or two might have served double duty as the flip side of more than one single. The engaging B-sides include "Wish You Were Here," "What Am I Gonna Do With Myself," "All Because," "Ride Sally Ride," "I'm Glad You're Mine," "Old Time Lovin'," "What a Wonderful Thing Love Is," and "School Days." The A-sides are familiar to everyone: "Let's Stay Together," the Beatles' remake "I Want to Hold Your Hand," and "Tired of Being Alone." Some excellent album cuts like "Have You Been Making Out Okay" didn't fit the format so there's more Green to get to complete your library of one of the all-time greats. ~ Andrew Hamilton

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating: Rating 5.0
Based on 2 ratings.
Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!
Get Email Alerts for Al Green

Product Info

  • UPC: 740155205225
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-11pm, Weekends: 10am-10pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)