Howard Roberts Is A Dirty Guitar Player / Color Him Funky

Is A Dirty Guitar Player / Color Him Funky
10 ratings
Price: $17.08
List Price: $18.98
You Save: $1.90 (10% Off)
Currently Out of Stock: We'll get more as soon as possible
Notify Me When Available
Format:  CD
sku:  K454
on most orders of $50+
Brand New

Related products:

CD Details

  • Released:
  • Originally Released: 2002
  • Label: Sundazed Music Inc.


  • 1.Florence of Arabia
  • 2.What Kind of Fool Am I?
  • 3.Sack O' Woe
  • 4.When Lights Are Low
  • 5.How Down
  • 6.Shiny Stockings
  • 7.Goodbye, Good Luck, I'm Gone!
  • 8.One Long Day
  • 9.The Peeper
  • 10.Days of Wine & Roses
  • 11.Down Under
  • 12.Color Him Funky
  • 13.Watermelon Man
  • 14.Smolderin'
  • 15.Lil' Darlin'
  • 16.Turista
  • 17.If Ever I Would Leave You
  • 18.One O'Clock Jump
  • 19.Deep Fry
  • 20.Rough Ridin'
  • 21.Smokin'
  • 22.One Note Samba
  • 23.Dirty Old Bossa Nova

Product Description:

Two Capitol LPs are reissued in full on this CD. Howard Roberts, a talented jazz guitarist from the 1950s who chose to become a studio musician, is in fine form on these selections, playing soul-jazz and swinging hard bop with a pair of quartets that have either Paul Bryant or Burkley Kendrix on organ. At the time these albums were released (they were both recorded in 1963), one could be excused for shying away from them because they both clocked in at barely a half-hour apiece and the individual selections were all quite concise, almost always less than three minutes apiece. The latter was on purpose so the numbers could be played on AM radio. But as it turned out, Roberts and his group did an excellent job of making every moment count, playing concise but self-sufficient arrangements and taking short but meaningful solos. So although most of the songs seem to end when they are just starting to get going, a lot of music takes place in a short period of time. Roberts recorded a long series of albums for Capitol, and the two combined on this CD are arguably his best for the label. ~ Scott Yanow

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating:
Based on 10 ratings.
Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!
Get Email Alerts for Howard Roberts

Product Info

  • UPC: 090771019028
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-11pm, Weekends: 10am-10pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)