James Brown Gold

4 ratings
Price: $14.39
List Price: $15.99
You Save: $1.60 (10% Off)
Currently Out of Stock: We'll get more as soon as possible
Notify Me When Available
Format:  CD  (2 Discs)
sku:  366K7
on most orders of $50+
Brand New

Related products:

CD Details

  • Number of Discs: 2
  • Released: September 5, 2005
  • Originally Released: 2005
  • Label: Universal Uk


  • 1.Please, Please, Please
  • 2.Try Me
  • 3.Good Good Lovin'
  • 4.I'll Go Crazy
  • 5.Think
  • 6.Lost Someone
  • 7.Night Train (Single Version)
  • 8.Prisoner of Love
  • 9.Out of Sight
  • 10.Papa's Got a Brand New Bag (Pt 1 & 2)
  • 11.I Got You (I Feel Good)
  • 12.It's a Man's, Man's, Man's World (Album Version)
  • 13.Money Won't Change You (Single Version) (Part 1)
  • 14.Cold Sweat
  • 15.There Was a Time (Live) (1967/The Apollo)
  • 16.I Got the Feelin'
  • 17.Licking Stick (Pt 1)
  • 18.Say It Loud, I'm Black & I'm Proud
  • 19.Give It up or Turnit a Loose
  • 20.I Don't Want Nobody to Give Me Nothing
  • 21.Mother Popcorn
  • 22.Hey America
  • 23.Get up I Feel Like Being a Sex Machine
  • 24.Super Bad (Pt 1 & 2) (Single Version)
  • 25.Soul Power (Pt 1) (Single Version)
  • 26.Hot Pants (Pt 1)
  • 27.Make It Funky (Pt 1) (Single Version)
  • 28.Talkin' Loud & Sayin' Nothing (Pt 1)
  • 29.King Heroin
  • 30.Get on the Good Foot (Pt 1)
  • 31.The Boss
  • 32.Doing It to Death (Single Version)
  • 33.The Payback
  • 34.Papa Don't Take No Mess (Pt 1)
  • 35.My Thang
  • 36.Funky President (People It's Bad)
  • 37.Get up Offa That Thing
  • 38.Bodyheat (Pt 1) (Single Version)
  • 39.It's Too Funky in Here (Single Version)
  • 40.Living in America

Product Description:

The double CD set GOLD brings together 40 essential remastered tracks from legendary soul singer James Brown including "Out Of Sight," "Cold Sweat," "I Got The Feelin'," and "The Payback."
The first major James Brown anthology to be released after the Godfather of Soul's passing in December 2006, the two-disc GOLD set spans the legendary performer's peak years, from his rise to fame in the mid 1950s as an R&B crooner to his role as funk's elder statesman in the late '70s. The majority of GOLD, however, draws from the '60s, when Brown was boldly stepping out into uncharted musical territory with electrifying horn-led singles such as "Papa's Got a Brand New Bag" and "I Got You (I Feel Good)," tracks that showcased his unstoppable energy and undeniable charisma, and cemented his reputation as "the Hardest Working Man in Show Business."
While Brown's early hits--including the desperate "Please Please Please" and the swooning "Try Me"--revealed the Georgia-bred singer's mastery of doo-wop-influenced balladry, later singles such as "Super Bad" and "The Payback" found Mr. Dynamite unleashing his full funk fury to stunning effect. The perfect middle ground between the well-selected single-disc 20 ALL TIME GREATEST HITS! and the massive four-CD STAR TIME box set, GOLD is easily one of the finest Brown collections available and ideal for any devoted fan.

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating:
Based on 4 ratings.
Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!
Get Email Alerts for James Brown

Product Info

  • UPC: 602498325841
  • Shipping Weight: 0.28/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 2 items

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-10pm, Weekends: 10am-9pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)