Kool & The Gang The Funk Collection

The Funk Collection
2 ratings
Price: $10.79
List Price: $11.99
You Save: $1.20 (10% Off)
Currently Out of Stock: We'll get more as soon as possible
Notify Me When Available
Format:  CD
sku:  366K6
on most orders of $50+
Brand New

Related products:

CD Details

  • Released: October 7, 2002
  • Label: Polygram Uk


  • 1.Kool & The Gang - (studio)
  • 2.Hollywood Swinging - (studio)
  • 3.Funky Stuff - (studio)
  • 4.Who's Going To Take The Weights Pt.S 1 & 2 - (studio)
  • 5.Rhyme Time People - (studio)
  • 6.Electric Frog Pt.1 - (studio)
  • 7.Raw Hamburger - (studio)
  • 8.Spirit Of The Boogie - (studio)
  • 9.Sunshine And Love - (studio)
  • 10.Open Sesame Pt.2 - (studio)
  • 11.Kool It Here Comes The Fuzz (Live) - (studio)
  • 12.Penguin (Live) - (studio)
  • 13.Cosmic Energy - (studio)
  • 14.Summer Madness - (studio)
  • 15.Winter Sadness - (studio)
  • 16.Jungle Boogie - (studio)

Product Description:

The U.K.-issue FUNK COLLECTION is a 16-song compilation of early material by the longstanding R&B outfit Kool and the Gang. The set includes such old school funk classics as "Open Sesame" and "Jungle Boogie."
Liner Note Author: Daryl Easlea.
Funk Collection seems like a silly title for a Kool & the Gang compilation -- it's about as silly as titling a Marvin Gaye compilation Soul Collection -- but it does help signify that it covers the group's pre-pop crossover phase. This, like so many other sets, demonstrates how they were more artistically successful during this era, despite not being regulars on the pop chart. With rare exception, each selection has appeared on at least a couple other anthologies. The disc scores points for including the obvious tracks ("Jungle Boogie," "Summer Madness," "Hollywood Swinging," "Funky Stuff") as well as a well-picked batch of album cuts. All things considered, it's rather interchangeable with no less than six other discs that cover the same ground. ~ Andy Kellman

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating:
Based on 2 ratings.
Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!
Get Email Alerts for Kool & The Gang

Product Info

  • UPC: 731454498920
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-11pm, Weekends: 10am-10pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)