Sir Douglas Quintet Sir Douglas Quintet Is Back!

Sir Douglas Quintet Is Back!
Price: $12.58
List Price: $13.98
You Save: $1.40 (10% Off)
Currently Out of Stock: We'll get more as soon as possible
Notify Me When Available
Format:  CD
sku:  H9QA
on most orders of $50+
Brand New

CD Details

  • Released:
  • Originally Released: 2000
  • Label: Sundazed Music Inc.

Entertainment Reviews:

Rolling Stone - 7/20/00, p.140
3.5 stars out of 5 - "...Corrals the '64-'66 sides by the SDQ, Sahm's spicy, barbecued take on Beatlemania....showing how he carried Texas with him everywhere he went."
Q - 9/00, p.128
4 stars out of 5 - "...A new trawl through Meaux's archives....its stronger songs, sense of humor and boundary-blurring music....makes this a good collection."
No Depression - 7-8/00, pp.108-9
"...A fresh look at some fascinating SDQ tracks previously unreleased or rarely heard....adding a new dimension to the available picture of what this broad, deep outfit really had to offer..."


  • 1.Sugar Bee
  • 2.Love Don't Treat Me Fair
  • 3.You Got Me Hurtin'
  • 4.We'll Never Tell
  • 5.Oh, What a Mistake!
  • 6.She Digs My Love
  • 7.When I Sing the Blues
  • 8.The Story of John Hardy
  • 9.In Time
  • 10.Old Bill Baetty
  • 11.Isabella
  • 12.Blues Pass Me By
  • 13.Wine, Wine, Wine
  • 14.She's Gotta Be Boss

Product Description:

This is a collection of rare singles, B-sides and unreleased tracks.
The Sir Douglas Quintet: Doug Sahm (vocals, guitar); Frank Morin (saxophone, percussion); Peter Ferst (trumpet, organ); Augie Meyers (organ); Jack Barber, John York (bass); Johnny Perez (drums).
Recorded at Pasadena Sounds Studio, Pasadena, Texas between 1965 & 1966. Originally released on Crazy Cajun & Tribe. Includes liner notes by Peter Doggett.
Personnel: Doug Sahm (vocals, guitar); Frank Morin (saxophone, percussion); Augie Meyers (organ).
Liner Note Authors: Jud Cost; Peter Doggett.
Recording information: Pasadena Sounds Studios, Pasadena, TX (1964-1966).
Arranger: Doug Sahm.
This set is a companion to THE BEST OF THE SIR DOUGLAS QUINTET. Among these 14 songs are a slew of rare and obscure singles. Doug Sahm and his cohorts, along with producer Huey P. Meaux, fearlessly apply their multi-cultural inclinations to British invasion pop and flat-out rock & roll with bracing results.
Recording between 1964 and 1966, the band easily move through the variety of musical genres prevalent in their Texas homeland: Tex-Mex, jump blues, country weepers, and even garage pop. Sahm invests himself in all of it with aplomb and taste. On "Blues Pass Me By," his mastery of blues phrasing is readily apparent. Augie Meyer, who appears again with Sahm in his '90s band the Texas Tornados, gets credit for the rollicking Farfisa solos that appear here.

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!
Get Email Alerts for Sir Douglas Quintet

Product Info

  • UPC: 090771012425
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-11pm, Weekends: 10am-10pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)