Dick Dale Surfers' Choice

Surfers' Choice
9 ratings
Price: $16.34
List Price: $16.98
You Save: $0.64 (4% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 1-3 business days
sku:  H9KJ
Brand New

CD Details

  • Released:
  • Originally Released: 2006
  • Label: Sundazed Music Inc.

Entertainment Reviews:

Rolling Stone - p.110
Ranked #6 in Rolling Stone's "The Top 10 Reissues Of 2006" -- "Dick Dale invented surf guitar: staccato bursts of loud, clean twang over explosive rhythms."


  • Buy for $0.991.Surf Beat - (with Surfer's Choice)
  • Buy for $0.992.Sloop John B - (with Surfer's Choice)
  • Buy for $0.993.Take It Off - (with Surfer's Choice)
  • Buy for $0.994.Night Owl - (with Surfer's Choice)
  • Buy for $0.995.Fanny Mae - (with Surfer's Choice)
  • Buy for $0.996.Misirlou Twist - (with Surfer's Choice)
  • Buy for $0.997.Peppermint Man - (with Surfer's Choice)
  • Buy for $0.998.Surfing Drums - (with Surfer's Choice)
  • Buy for $0.999.Shake N' Stomp - (with Surfer's Choice)
  • Buy for $0.9910.Lovey Dovey - (with Surfer's Choice)
  • Buy for $0.9911.Death of a Gremmie - (with Surfer's Choice)
  • Buy for $0.9912.Let's Go Trippin' - (with Surfer's Choice)
  • Buy for $0.9913.Del-Tone Rock - (Bonus Track, with Surfer's Choice)
  • Buy for $0.9914.Jungle Fever - (Bonus Track, with Surfer's Choice)
  • Buy for $0.9915.Miserlou - (Bonus Track, with Surfer's Choice)
  • Buy for $0.9916.Eight till Midnight - (Bonus Track, with Surfer's Choice)
  • Buy for $0.9917.Lovin' on My Brain - (Bonus Track, with Surfer's Choice)
  • Buy for $0.9918.Run For Life, A - (Bonus Track, with Surfer's Choice)

Product Description:

Very few early rock & roll albums were true groundbreakers, but this is one: not only did it single-handedly establish the surf music genre (and Dick Dale's hegemony over it), but also sold the entire concept to mass America, where surfing in landlocked regions was only a state of mind. Largely recorded at the Rendezvous Ballroom in Balboa Beach -- Dale's ruling home turf, where one can clearly hear the kids screaming in anticipation at the start of "Surf Beat" -- this lays out the vocal highlights from Dick's set list ("Peppermint Man," "Lovey Dovey," "Night Owl," "Fanny Mae," and "Sloop John B.," sounding very odd here with overdubbed strings) up against the instrumentals that truly forged the style. "Miserlou Twist" -- a different version than the original Del-Tone single -- and the original, pre-reverb single version of "Let's Go Trippin'" appear to be the only studio tracks aboard. But the live takes on "Surfing Drums" (later retitled "Tribal Thunder" on one of Dale's comeback albums), "Take It Off," "Shake 'n' Stomp," and the lowdown stomp of "Death of a Gremmie" just as clearly delineate the wild, reverbed excitement of the new style in its native habitat. Without a doubt, surf guitar's finest hour, the genre's equivalent to Charlie Parker's Dial recordings. ~ Cub Koda

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating:
Based on 9 ratings.
Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!

Similar Products

Music Categories:
Get Email Alerts for Dick Dale

Product Info

  • Sales Rank: 60,137
  • UPC: 090771118424
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

Top ranking CD:

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-10pm, Weekends: 10am-9pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)