Cameo Anthology (2-CD)

Anthology (2-CD)
3 ratings
Price: $26.98
List Price: $29.98
You Save: $3 (10% Off)
Currently Out of Stock: We'll get more as soon as possible
Notify Me When Available
Format:  CD  (2 Discs)
sku:  JGF9
on most orders of $50+
Brand New

Related products:

CD Details

  • Number of Discs: 2
  • Released:
  • Originally Released: 2002
  • Label: UMVD Labels

Entertainment Reviews:

Q - 9/02, p.124
3 stars out of 5 - "...Cameo will only be remembered for one song, but gadzooks, what a song....'Word Up' is unarguably classic..."
Mojo (Publisher) - p.137
3 stars out of 5 - "Follow it all across their 30 funkated tracks."

Tracks on Disc 1:

  • Buy for $0.991.Rigor Mortis
  • Buy for $0.992.Post Mortem
  • Buy for $0.993.Funk Funk
  • Buy for $0.994.Find My Way - (TGIF version)
  • Buy for $0.995.It's Serious
  • Buy for $0.996.We All Know Who We Are
  • Buy for $0.997.Insane
  • Buy for $1.298.I Just Want To Be - (12" version)
  • Buy for $1.299.Sparkle
  • Buy for $1.2910.Shake Your Pants
  • Buy for $0.9911.We're Goin' Out Tonight
  • Buy for $1.2912.Why Have I Lost You - (version 2)
  • Buy for $0.9913.Keep It Hot
  • Buy for $0.9914.Feel Me

Tracks on Disc 2:

  • Buy for $0.991.Freaky Dancin'
  • Buy for $0.992.Don't Be So Cool
  • Buy for $0.993.Just Be Yourself
  • Buy for $1.294.Flirt
  • Buy for $0.995.Alligator Woman / Secrets Of Time
  • Buy for $0.996.Style - (single version)
  • Buy for $1.297.She's Strange
  • Buy for $0.998.Talkin' Out The Side Of Your Neck
  • Buy for $0.999.Hangin' Downtown
  • Buy for $1.2910.Attack Me With Your Love
  • Buy for $1.2911.Single Life
  • Buy for $1.2912.Word Up
  • Buy for $1.2913.Candy
  • Buy for $1.2914.Back And Forth
  • Buy for $0.9915.Skin I'm In - (single version)
  • Buy for $0.9916.I Want It Now - (single version)

Product Description:

Cameo includes: Larry Blackmon (vocals, various instruments); Charlie Singleton (vocals, guitar); Tomi Jenkins (vocals); Nathan Leftenant (trumpet, background vocals).
Additional personnel includes: Nona Hendryx (spoken vocals).
Producer: Larry Blackmon.
Compilation producer: Harry Weinger.
Recorded between 1977 & 1988. Includes liner notes by Amy Linden.
All tracks have been digitally remastered.
Liner Note Author: Amy Linden.
Illustrator: Mathieu Bitton.
Cameo had one of the longest-running and most mercurial careers of any funk band in the '70s and '80s. Not coincidentally, they were also one of the most inventive, effortlessly bridging the gaps between hard, sweaty funk, lithe R&B charm, and edgy, rock-tinged New Wave (especially in their '80s incarnation as a three-piece). The two-disc GOLD does a superb job of offering the band a well-deserved retrospective, reaching back to 1977's "Rigor Mortis" and continuing all the way through 1988's "I Want It Now."
Cameo first albums were cut as a 13-piece in the mold of slinky funk acts like Parliament and the Ohio Players. Under the guidance of singer/frontman Larry Blackmon, Cameo evolved over the course of the decade, slimming down and pushing its sound from by-the-numbers rump-shakers to irresistibly quirky jams like "Don't Be So Cool" at the dawn of the '80s. Soon, Cameo alighted upon the freaky, keyboard-dominated sound that would bring them their greatest success, a phase best represented by the swirling, atmospheric "She's Strange" and the sassy punch of "Word Up," the band's signature song. Cameo is often overlooked in the pantheon of influential funk acts, but the breadth and quality of GOLD should correct that mistake.

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating: Rating 4.3
Based on 3 ratings.
Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!
Get Email Alerts for Cameo

Product Info

  • UPC: 044001733826
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 2 items

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-11pm, Weekends: 10am-10pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)