James Brown Soul on Top

Soul on Top
8 ratings
Out of Print: Future availability is unknown
Notify Me When Available
Format:  CD
sku:  YXQ9
on most orders of $50+
Brand New

Related products:

CD Details

  • Released:
  • Originally Released: 2004
  • Label: Verve

Entertainment Reviews:

Q - p.126
4 stars out of 5 - "[A] long-forgotten jazz excursion into big-band covers and reworkings of Brown originals....An unearthed treasure."
Mojo (Publisher) - p.110
4 stars out of 5 - "[A] truly coruscating marriage of dynamic big band jazz and searing funk power....Brown is in irresistible form....SOUL ON TOP is undoubtedly a lost masterpiece."


  • Buy for $0.991.That's My Desire
  • Buy for $0.992.Your Cheatin' Heart
  • Buy for $0.993.What Kind of Fool Am I?
  • Buy for $0.994.It's a Man's, Man's, Man's World - (previously unreleased)
  • Buy for $0.995.The Man in the Glass
  • Buy for $0.996.It's Magic
  • Buy for $0.997.September Song - (previously unreleased)
  • Buy for $0.998.For Once in My Life - (previously unreleased)
  • Buy for $0.999.Every Day I Have the Blues
  • Buy for $0.9910.I Need Your Key (To Turn Me On)
  • Buy for $0.9911.Papa's Got a Brand New Bag - (previously unreleased)
  • Buy for $0.9912.There Was a Time - (previously unreleased)

Product Description:

Personnel: James Brown (vocals); Bill Pitman, Louis Shelton (guitar); Ernie Watts, Joe Romano (alto saxophone); Maceo Parker, Pete Christlieb, Buddy Collette (tenor saxophone); Jimmy Mulidore (baritone saxophone); Al Aarons, John Audino, Chuck Finley, Tommy Porello (trumpet); Jimmy Cleveland, Nick Dimaio, Kenny Shroyer, Bill Tole (trombone); Frank Vincent (piano); Ray Brown (bass guitar); Louie Bellson (drums); Jack Arnold (percussion).
Liner Note Authors: Francis Davis; Leonard Feather.
Arranger: Oliver Nelson.
SOUL ON TOP is one of the more unusual entries in the James Brown catalog. On this 1969 album, the Godfather of Soul is backed by jazz drummer Louie Bellson's big band, with arrangements by famed jazz orchestrator Oliver Nelson, for a program including numerous jazz standards, a country tune, and jazzy reworkings of classic Brown songs. Brown was a jazz fan and admirer of Bellson, and finally approached him to do an album, at which point Bellson suggested bringing Nelson aboard as arranger.
The results ostensibly take Brown out of his comfort zone. However, he sounds no less assured on a jazz boogaloo version of Hank Williams's "Your Cheatin' Heart" and a funked-up, horn-heavy take on Kurt Weill's "September Song" than he does on reinterpretations of his own "It's a Man's, Man's, Man's World" and "Papa's Got a Brand New Bag." Brown brought longtime saxman Maceo Parker along for company, so there's a bit of JB's flavor here, but for the most part it's a strange-but-happy marriage of Brown's gritty R&B voice, Bellson's hard-charging big band, and Nelson's harmonically rich horn arrangements. If you never thought you'd hear a soulful version of the Anthony Newley tune "What Kind of Fool Am I?," SOUL ON TOP will change your mind.

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating: Rating 4.4
Based on 8 ratings.
Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!
Get Email Alerts for James Brown

Product Info

  • UPC: 602498617182
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-11pm, Weekends: 10am-10pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)