The Beau Brummels San Fran Sessions (3-CD)

San Fran Sessions (3-CD)
6 ratings
Price: $33.28
List Price: $36.98
You Save: $3.70 (10% Off)
Currently Out of Stock: We'll get more as soon as possible
Notify Me When Available
Format:  CD  (3 Discs)
sku:  SJHA
on most orders of $50+
Brand New

Related products:

CD Details

  • Number of Discs: 3
  • Released: June 11, 1996
  • Originally Released: 1996
  • Label: Sundazed Music Inc.

Entertainment Reviews:

Rolling Stone - 12/26/96, pp.190-192
"...Blessed with an astonishing singer in Sal Valentino and a prodigious songwriter in guitarist Ron Elliott, the Brummels were San Francisco's missing link between Beatlemania and the Fillmore boom..."
Q - 9/96, p.129
4 Stars - Excellent - "...How the Beau Brummels...transformed themselves into one of the truly great American pop groups...remains a mystery....Some of the folk-rock here rivals The Byrds in the beauty stakes..."

Tracks on Disc 1:

  • 1.Still In Love With You Baby - (previously unreleased, early version)
  • 2.It's So Nice - (previously unreleased, demo)
  • 3.Love Is Just A Game - (demo, unreleased in U.S.)
  • 4.Just A Little - (alternate take, unreleased in U.S.)
  • 5.Just Wait And See - (previously unreleased, early version)
  • 6.How Many Times - (previously unreleased, demo)
  • 7.Stay With Me A While - (Sal Valentino demo, unreleased in U.S.)
  • 8.I Will Go - (demo)
  • 9.Laugh Laugh - (alternate take, unreleased in U.S.)
  • 10.Sad Little Girl - (previously unreleased, demo)
  • 11.She's My Girl - (previously unreleased, demo)
  • 12.Talk To Me - (previously unreleased, demo)
  • 13.Before Darkness Ends - (previously unreleased, Sal Valentino demo)
  • 14.Hey Love - (previously unreleased, demo)
  • 15.That's All That Matters - (unreleased in U.S.)
  • 16.I Want More Loving - (previously unreleased, alternate vocal version)
  • 17.I Will Love You Still - (previously unreleased, demo)
  • 18.Just A Little - (previously unreleased, alternate version 2)
  • 19.News - (previously unreleased, demo)
  • 20.Woman - (previously unreleased, demo)

Tracks on Disc 2:

  • 1.Sometime At Night - (previously unreleased, featuring Sal)
  • 2.Sad Little Girl - (previously unreleased, alternate take)
  • 3.I'll Tell You
  • 4.When It Comes To Your Love - (previously unreleased, "Village Of The Giants" version)
  • 5.Can't Be So - (demo)
  • 6.That's Alright - (previously unreleased, demo)
  • 7.No Lonelier Man - (demo)
  • 8.She Loves Me - (demo)
  • 9.Can It Be - (previously unreleased, demo)
  • 10.Forget It Babe - (previously unreleased, Sal Valentino demo)
  • 11.Woman - (previously unreleased, alternate instrumental version)
  • 12.No Lonelier Man - (Ron Elliott demo, unreleased in U.S.)
  • 13.Tomorrow Is Another Day - (previously unreleased, demo)
  • 14.I'm Alone Again - (previously unreleased, demo)
  • 15.Kill - (previously unreleased, Ron Elliott demo)
  • 16.When It Comes To Your Love - (previously unreleased, unissued)
  • 17.Sad Little Girl - (previously unreleased, alternate version 2)
  • 18.Sometime At Night - (previously unreleased, featuring John)
  • 19.On The Road Again - (previously unreleased, Sal Valentino demo)
  • 20.Pity The Fool - (previously unreleased, demo)

Tracks on Disc 3:

  • 1.She Sends Me
  • 2.Fine With Me
  • 3.Friend Of Mine - (previously unreleased, Ron Elliott demo)
  • 4.Gentle Wanderin' Ways
  • 5.This Is Love - (previously unreleased, Sal Valentino demo)
  • 6.This Is Love - (previously unreleased)
  • 7.I Grow Old - (previously unreleased, version 1)
  • 8.Dream On
  • 9.Till The Day - (Ron Elliott demo, unreleased in U.S.)
  • 10.I'll Go Now - (previously unreleased, Sal Valentino demo)
  • 11.Down On Me - (unreleased in U.S.)
  • 12.I Cannot Hide - (previously unreleased, Ron Elliott demo)
  • 13.Let Me In - (unreleased in U.S.)
  • 14.Cry Some - (unreleased in U.S.)
  • 15.What Do you Want - (previously unreleased, Ron Elliott demo)
  • 16.Hey Love - (previously unreleased)
  • 17.I Grow Old - (version 2)
  • 18.Find A Place - (Sal Valentino demo)
  • 19.I Will Go - (unreleased intrumental backing track)
  • 20.Coming Home - (Ron Elliott demo, unreleased in U.S.)

Product Description:

Beau Brummels: Sal Valentino (vocals); Ron Elliot (guitar); Ron Meagher (bass); John Peterson (drums).
Compilation producers: Bob Irwin, Jud Cost.
This Beau Brummels box set contains entirely previously unreleased and rare material.
If you're looking for all the Beau Brummels you'll ever need, you've come to the right place. This three-disc set collects all of the band's 1964-66 sessions for Autumn Records, the San Francisco-based indie owned by legendary deejay Tom Donahue and producer Sylvester Stewart (who would go on to become the (in)famous Sly Stone). Hits like "Laugh Laugh" and "Just A Little" are present, of course, but every song here is a small gem of jangly California folk-rock.
The Beau Brummels made plenty of great music after their switch to Warner Brothers Records--new producer Lenny Waronker helmed those great Harper's Bizarre, Van Dyke Parks and Randy Newman albums, after all--but the core of their legend is contained on these three discs. Informative liner notes by Jud Cost of the '60s pop zine Cream Puff War and remastered sound add even greater value.

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating:
Based on 6 ratings.
Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!
Get Email Alerts for The Beau Brummels

Product Info

  • UPC: 090771103321
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 3 items

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-11pm, Weekends: 10am-10pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)