Hank Snow Snow South of The Border

Snow South of The Border
3 ratings
Price: $24.28
List Price: $26.98
You Save: $2.70 (10% Off)
Currently Out of Stock: We'll get more as soon as possible
Notify Me When Available
Format:  CD
sku:  YXH5
on most orders of $50+
Brand New

CD Details

  • Released:
  • Originally Released: 2008
  • Label: Bear Family


  • 1.Spanish Fire Ball
  • 2.Nuevo Laredo
  • 3.Adios Amigo
  • 4.Caribbean
  • 5.Maria Elena
  • 6.Vaya con Dios
  • 7.Blue Rose of the Rio
  • 8.Cuba Rhumba
  • 9.Senorita Rosalita
  • 10.The Rhumba Boogie
  • 11.Rose of Old Monterey
  • 12.Jamaica Farewell
  • 13.Vaya con Dios
  • 14.My Adobe Hacienda
  • 15.Limbo Rock
  • 16.Poison Love
  • 17.The Seashores of Old Mexico
  • 18.The Mysterious Lady from St. Martinique
  • 19.Jamaica Farewell
  • 20.When Mexican Joe Met Jole Blon
  • 21.Panamama
  • 22.El Rancho Grande
  • 23.My Sweet Conchita
  • 24.Vaya con Dios
  • 25.New Spanish Two Step
  • 26.Calypso Sweetheart
  • 27.La Cucaracha
  • 28.Rose of the Rio
  • 29.Sleepy Rio Grande
  • 30.The Rhumba Boogie
  • 31.Spanish Fire Ball
  • 32.Cuba Rhumba
  • 33.Caribbean

Product Description:

Hank Snow often misses out when the greatest country & western singers of all time are surveyed, but he was certainly one of the best. A Canadian transplant, he understood the desolate life of the Southwest deeply, and evoked it perfectly. (Even though he grew up in Nova Scotia, he spent most of his adolescence on a fishing boat.) His deep, steady warble resisted most attempts at crossover, but he used it perfectly; it's no coincidence that Willie Nelson, who often phrased closer to blues or jazz than country, loved him and recorded a full album with Snow in 1985. Bear Family has surveyed Snow's studio career over a series of box sets -- including no less than 20 discs just for the American-based, major-label recordings that began in 1950 with his hit "I'm Movin' On" -- but they also offered a series of four thematic compilations in 2008 for those who want a steady middle ground (more music than the hits compilations offer, but less than the completist route). In total, they serve as a good portrait of Snow's great career, although they bypass the straight country and honky tonk material he did so well. Snow South of the Border includes 33 tracks recorded throughout his career (1943-1978), and show him excelling at the Anglicized version of Mexican ranchera music that was popular in country music during the '50s and '60s. ~ John Bush

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating:
Based on 3 ratings.
Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!
Get Email Alerts for Hank Snow

Product Info

  • UPC: 790051643027
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-11pm, Weekends: 10am-10pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)