The Disco Years, Volume 4: Lost in the Music
by Various Artists

The Disco Years, Volume 4: Lost in the Music
11 ratings
Price: $12.56
Currently Out of Stock: We'll get more as soon as possible
Notify Me When Available
Format:  CD
sku:  YY3K
on most orders of $50+
Brand New

CD Details

  • Released:
  • Originally Released: 1992
  • Label: Rhino


  • 1.Good Times - Chic
  • 2.High Society - Norma Jean
  • 3.He's The Greatest Dancer - Sister Sledge
  • 4.Spacer - Sheila E./B. Devotion
  • 5.I'm Coming Out - Diana Ross
  • 6.I Like Love - Norma Jean
  • 7.I Love You More - Rene & Angela
  • 8.Keep It Comin' Love - KC & The Sunshine Band
  • 9.Fresh - Kool & The Gang
  • 10.In The Bush - Musique
  • 11.I'm Caught Up - Inner Life
  • 12.A Lover's Holiday - Change
  • 13.Don't Make Me Wait - Peech Boys
  • 14.One More Shot - C-Bank / Jenny Burton
  • 15.I.O.U. - Freeez
  • 16.Hot Stuff - Donna Summer
  • 17.Paradise - Change
  • 18.Lost In Music - Sister Sledge

Product Description:

Remastered by Bill Inglot and Ken Perry.
Dozens upon dozens of disco compilations -- some good, some bad -- have been released since Rhino dribbled out their seven-volume Disco Years series in the '90s. While several of the discs that have followed offer consistent track listings and more eye-pleasing packaging, this particular series remains one of the best available. Across seven discs, the disco phenomenon is summarized with a near-perfect balance between the universally known and the not quite as popular. Some might want to stick strictly to the pop-chart toppers, which is understandable for nostalgia's sake; however, one of the most important characteristics of this era is that the singles that failed to cross over into mainstream territory consistently rivaled -- and frequently trumped -- their gold and platinum counterparts. So, it doesn't matter whether you were a Paradise Garage regular or an infrequent viewer of Dance Fever -- there's something for everyone on each of these volumes. The fourth volume of The Disco Years, subtitled "Lost in Music," is a phenomenal installment that evenly mixes the overground with the underground; Change's "Paradise," Inner Life's "I'm Caught Up (In a One Night Love Affair)," Ren‚ & Angela's "I Love You More," Sister Sledge's "He's the Greatest Dancer," Chic's "Good Times," and Diana Ross' "I'm Coming Out" are all here. The most problematic aspect of these discs is that they favor radio edits that often trim several minutes from the original versions. Hardcore disco freaks will argue that a compromise of the extended groove defeats the purpose, but Rhino would have had to stretch this series out to an unwieldy size in order to accommodate each inclusion's most club-friendly mix. ~ Andy Kellman

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating:
Based on 11 ratings.
Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!

Product Info

  • UPC: 081227027520
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-11pm, Weekends: 10am-10pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)