Billy Butler Legends of Acid Jazz

Legends of Acid Jazz
2 ratings
Price: $10.78
You Save: $0.20 (2% Off)
Currently Out of Stock: We'll get more as soon as possible
Notify Me When Available
Format:  CD
sku:  YXY9
on most orders of $50+
Brand New

CD Details

  • Fantasy Warehouse Clearance Sale product may be specifically marked for one-way sale
  • Released: May 6, 1998
  • Label: Prestige


  • 1.The Twang Thang
  • 2.Cherry
  • 3.Work Song
  • 4.The Soul Roll
  • 5.She Is My Inspiration
  • 6.Bass-IC Blues
  • 7.Night Life
  • 8.Wave
  • 9.Watch What Happens
  • 10.Peacock Alley
  • 11.Prelude to a Kiss
  • 12.In a Mellow Tone

Product Description:

Personnel includes: Billy Butler, Houston Person, Ernie Hayes, Bob Bushnell, Rudy Collins, Jesse Powell, Johnny "Hammond" Smith, Jimmy Johnson.
Recorded in December 1968 & December 1970.
Personnel: Billy Butler (guitar, bass guitar); Jesse Powell, Houston Person (tenor saxophone); Ernie Hayes (piano, organ); Johnny "Hammond" Smith (electric piano, organ); Bob Bushnell (electric bass, bass guitar); Jimmy Johnson , Jimmy Johnson, Jr. , Rudy Collins (drums).
Audio Remasterer: Joe Tarantino.
Liner Note Authors: Sonny Mann; Bob Porter.
Recording information: Van Gelder Studios, Englewood Cliffs, NJ (12/16/1968/12/21/1970).
Unknown Contributor Roles: Houston Person; Johnny "Hammond" Smith; Rudy Collins; Ernie Hayes; Bob Bushnell.
A greatly in-demand studio player throughout his life, guitarist Billy Butler fortunately had opportunities to lead four albums for Prestige along with a couple of slightly later European records. Butler was a versatile musician who, on ballads in particular displayed a very interesting sound, sometimes sliding between notes as if he were playing a steel guitar. This 1998 CD reissues all of the music from Butler's first (This Is Billy Butler) and fourth (Night Life) Prestige records. Despite the generic title and a few grooving tracks, the music doesn't have much to do with acid jazz and is generally in the soul jazz vein. Butler performs some standards (including "Work Song," "Wave," "In a Mellow Tone" and a memorable rendition of "Cherry") along with some basic originals. His sidemen include either Houston Person or Jesse Powell on tenors, Ernie Hayes or Johnny "Hammond" Smith on keyboards (electric piano or organ), electric bassist Bob Bushnell, and Rudy Collins or Jimmy Johnson on drums. This is the definitive Billy Butler release and is highly recommended, particularly to listeners not familiar with his rather distinctive sound. ~ Scott Yanow

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating:
Based on 2 ratings.
Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!
Get Email Alerts for Billy Butler

Product Info

  • UPC: 025218519724
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-11pm, Weekends: 10am-10pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)