Curtis Mayfield The Anthology 1961-1977 (2-CD)

The Anthology 1961-1977 (2-CD)
21 ratings
Price: $28.78
List Price: $31.98
You Save: $3.20 (10% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 1-3 business days
Format:  CD  (2 Discs)
sku:  J4J6
Brand New

CD Details

  • Number of Discs: 2
  • Released:
  • Originally Released: 1992
  • Label: MCA

Entertainment Reviews:

Rolling Stone - 2/4/93, p.69
4 Stars - Excellent - "...a remarkable document...this collection connects a decade's worth of gentle Impressions singles with the power and invention of Curtis Mayfield's solo career...a stunning picture..."
Entertainment Weekly - 1/29/93, p.57
"...this set is more than just a long-overdue reissue; it also serves as a vivid mini-history of soul, from '60s vocal harmony through '70s blaxploitation. Essential..." - Rating: A
Musician - 6/93, p.94
"...Even if you already know the big hits, this deeply satisfying two-CD feast holds wondrous delights..."

Tracks on Disc 1:

  • Buy for $1.291.Gypsy Woman
  • Buy for $0.992.Grow Closer Together
  • Buy for $0.993.Never Let Me Go
  • Buy for $0.994.Little Young Lover
  • Buy for $0.995.Minstrel and Queen (Queen Majesty)
  • Buy for $0.996.I'm the One Who Loves You
  • Buy for $0.997.Sad, Sad Girl and Boy
  • Buy for $1.298.It's All Right
  • Buy for $0.999.Talking About My Baby
  • Buy for $1.2910.I'm So Proud
  • Buy for $1.2911.Keep on Pushing
  • Buy for $0.9912.You Must Believe Me
  • Buy for $0.9913.See the Real Me
  • Buy for $0.9914.Amen
  • Buy for $0.9915.I've Been Trying
  • Buy for $1.2916.People Get Ready
  • Buy for $0.9917.It's Hard to Believe
  • Buy for $0.9918.Woman's Got Soul
  • Buy for $0.9919.Meeting Over Yonder
  • Buy for $0.9920.I Need You
  • Buy for $0.9921.You've Been Cheatin'
  • Buy for $0.9922.Man, Oh Man - (previously unreleased)
  • Buy for $0.9923.Can't Satisfy
  • Buy for $1.2924.We're a Winner
  • Buy for $0.9925.I Loved and I Lost
  • Buy for $0.9926.We're Rolling On (Pt. 1)

Tracks on Disc 2:

  • 1.Fool for You
  • 2.This Is My Country
  • 3.Choice of Colors
  • 4.Check Out Your Mind
  • 5.Move on Up
  • 6.(Don't Worry) If There's a Hell Below, We're All Going to Go
  • 7.The Makings of You
  • 8.Beautiful Brother of Mine
  • 9.Freddie's Dead
  • 10.Superfly
  • 11.Pusherman
  • 12.So in Love
  • 13.Only You Babe - (single edit)
  • 14.Do Do Wap Is Strong in Here - (single edit)

Product Description:

Producer: Curtis Mayfield.
Compilation producer: Andy McKaie.
Recorded between 1961 and 1977. Includes liner notes by Robert Pruter.
Digitally remastered by Robert Stoughton (MCA Recording Studios, North Hollywood, California).
Recording information: 07/1961-??/1977.
If Chuck D. is the modern music's incarnation of Malcolm X, then Curtis Mayfield must surely be its Martin Luther King. From the inception of his career, Mayfield has created some of the warmest, most uplifting music that secular soul music has ever offered. ANTHOLOGY focuses mainly on his tenure with The Impressions--his seminal gospel based '60s group. Mayfield's intent was always clear: a ringing message of peace and brotherhood. His message for equality was insistent, yet it came with an open hand rather than a closed fist. The trust in humanity such a stance required during the '60s is evidenced in the beauty of Mayfield's songs.
"Meeting Over Yonder," "Keep on Pushing," and perhaps most importantly, "People Get Ready" overwhelm on musical merit alone. What is most impressive, however, is the power that lies in lack of bitterness or cynicism in these songs. As Mayfield moved on to a solo career, he became even more didactic, practically inventing funk in process with "Freddie's Dead" and "Superfly." He sunk into expansive grooves, displacing the glory '70s drug-induced complacency with wah-wah guitars and loping melodies. ANTHOLOGY ends on a decidedly positive note, which is probably how Mayfield prefers it.

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating: Rating 4.8
Based on 21 ratings.
Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!

Similar Products

Music Categories:
Get Email Alerts for Curtis Mayfield

Product Info

  • Sales Rank: 37,400
  • UPC: 008811066420
  • Shipping Weight: 0.37/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 2 items

Top ranking CD:

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-11pm, Weekends: 10am-10pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)