Ohio Players Funk on Fire: The Mercury Anthology (2-CD)

McAfee Secure sites help keep you safe from identity theft, credit/debit card fraud, spyware, spam, viruses and online scams
Rating 4.6
14 ratings
Only 6 copies left
List Price: $29.98
Your Price: $26.98
You Save: $3 (10% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 1-3 business days

Add to Cart
Save for Later
Format: CD  (2 Discs)
Item:  MRY 063041

Related products:

CD Details

  • Number of Discs: 2
  • Released: June 17, 2002
  • Label: Island / Mercury

Entertainment Reviews:

Q - 10/95, p.143
4 Stars - Excellent - "...George Clinton has pinched all the mid-'70s funk kudos for himself, perhaps The Ohio Players deserve some too..."

Tracks on Disc 1:

  • 1.Skin Tight
  • 2.Jive Turkey
  • 3.Heaven Must Be Like This
  • 4.Fire
  • 5.Together
  • 6.I Want To Be Free
  • 7.It's All Over
  • 8.Piano Ballad (Just Right) - (previously unreleased)
  • 9.Fopp
  • 10.Sweet Sticky Thing - (Quad mix)
  • 11.Love Rollercoaster
  • 12.Honey
  • 13.There It Is - (previously unreleased)
  • 14.Happy Holidays, Parts 1 & 2

Tracks on Disc 2:

  • 1.Who'd She Coo?
  • 2.Bi-Centennial
  • 3.Far East Mississippi
  • 4.Only A Child Can Love
  • 5.Angel
  • 6.O-H-I-O
  • 7.Body Vibes
  • 8.Alone - (live)
  • 9.Good Luck Charm
  • 10.Funk-O-Nots
  • 11.Time Slips Away
  • 12.Shady Lady - (previously unreleased)
  • 13.Wonderful - (previously unreleased)
  • 14.More Than Love - (previously unreleased)

Product Description:

FUNK ON FIRE: THE MERCURY ANTHOLOGY includes a 24-page booklet.
The Ohio Players: Leroy "Sugarfoot" Bonner (vocals, guitar); Clarence "Chet" Willis (guitar, background vocals); Clarence "Satch" Satchell (flute, saxophone, percussion, background vocals); Ralph "Pee Wee" Middlebrooks, Marvin "Merv" Pierce (trumpet); James "Diamond" Williams (flugelhorn, drums, congas, timbales, percussion, gong, background vocals); William "Billy" Beck (keyboards, percussion, background vocals); Marshall Jones (bass); Robert "Kumba" Jones (congas).
Additional personnel: Paul Serrano, Jack Kramer (horns).
Producer: Ohio Players.
Compilation producers: Ohio Players, Harry Weinger.
Recorded between 1974 & 1978. Includes liner notes by Alan Light.
All tracks have been digitally remastered.
From their erotically charged album covers to their grinding, bass-heavy grooves, the Ohio Players were one of the highest profile funk bands of the 1970s. The superb two-disc anthology FUNK ON FIRE represents everything that made the Players great--fine musicianship, a blend of fiercely syncopated rhythms with pop accessibility, and a sassy, outrageous attitude (thanks, in large part, to the animated vocals of Leroy "Sugarfoot" Bonner). Though the Players released several records for the Detroit-based Westbound label in the early part of their career, they really hit their stride when they signed to Mercury, where they released a string of charting albums, including the funk classics FIRE and HONEY.
All the hits and key tracks from the Mercury albums are here, including the hard-driving "Fire" and the infectious "Love Rollercoaster," as well as lush, keyboard- and falsetto-drenched ballads ("Together"). While the Players' late-'70s material is generally considered inferior to their mid-'70s work, the second disc of this anthology does an admirable job of picking the best tracks from these later albums--"O-H-I-O" and the spacey "Funk-O-Nots," among them. In short, the Players' best work is boiled down on this definitive set, making it a crucial addition to any funk library.

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating: Rating 4.6
Based on 14 ratings.
Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!

Similar Products:

Music Categories:
Email Icon
Get Email Alerts for Ohio Players

Product Info:

  • Sales Rank: 99,404
  • UPC: 044006304120
  • Shipping Weight: 0.24/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 2 items