Etta James Gold (2-CD)

Gold (2-CD)
5 ratings
SUPER SAVINGS: $8.84 Limited Time Only
List Price: $9.95
You Save: $1.11 (11% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 1-3 business days
Format:  CD  (2 Discs)
sku:  YY9R
Brand New

Related products:

CD Details

  • Released:
  • Originally Released: 2007
  • Label: Hip-O Records

Tracks on Disc 1:

  • 1.Wallflower, The (Dance with Me Henry)
  • 2.Good Rockin' Daddy
  • 3.Tough Lover
  • Buy for $1.294.All I Could Do Is Cry
  • Buy for $1.295.If I Can't Have You
  • Buy for $1.296.My Dearest Darling
  • Buy for $1.297.A Sunday Kind of Love
  • Buy for $1.298.At Last
  • Buy for $1.299.Trust in Me
  • Buy for $1.2910.Don't Cry Baby
  • Buy for $1.2911.Fool That I Am
  • Buy for $0.9912.Wainting for Charlie (To Come Home)
  • Buy for $1.2913.Something's Got a Hold on Me
  • Buy for $0.9914.Next Door to the Blues
  • Buy for $0.9915.Stop the Wedding
  • Buy for $0.9916.These Foolish Things (Remind Me of You)
  • Buy for $1.2917.Pushover
  • Buy for $0.9918.Baby, What You Want Me to Do

Tracks on Disc 2:

  • Buy for $0.991.Loving You More Every Day
  • Buy for $1.292.In the Basement, Pt. 1
  • Buy for $1.293.Tell Mama
  • Buy for $1.294.I'd Rather Go Blind
  • Buy for $0.995.Security
  • Buy for $0.996.Almost Persuaded
  • Buy for $0.997.Losers Weepers, Pt. 1
  • Buy for $0.998.All the Way Down
  • Buy for $0.999.God's Song (That's Why I Love Mankind)
  • Buy for $0.9910.Feeling Uneasy
  • Buy for $0.9911.Let's Burn Down the Cornfield
  • Buy for $1.2912.Loving Arms
  • 13.Take It to the Limit
  • Buy for $1.2914.Damn Your Eyes
  • Buy for $0.9915.Whatever Gets You Through the Night
  • 16.The Man I Love
  • 17.The Blues Is My Business
  • 18.The Sky Is Crying

Product Description:

Personnel: Etta James (vocals); Harvey Fuqua, Richard Berry, Sugar Pie DeSanto (vocals); Brian Ray (guitar, slide guitar); Danny Kortchmar, David T. Walker, Albert Jr. Lowe, Ken Marco, Josh Sklair, Kenny Greenberg, Lowell George, Matt "Guitar" Murphy, Matt Murphy, Reggie Young , Arik Marshall, Steve Cropper, Wah-Wah Watson (guitar); Jim Horn (saxophone, horns); Floyd Newman, James Mitchell , Maxwell Street Jimmy Davis , Red Holloway, Aaron Varnell, Charles Chalmers (saxophone); Gavrell Cooper (tenor saxophone); Big Jim Wynn (baritone saxophone); Don Johnson, Gene Miller (trumpet); David Duke , Charlie Findley, Gene Cipriano, Bobby Keyes, Charles Dinwiddie, Steve Madaio, Trevor Lawrence, Lew McCreary (horns); Dewey Oldham (piano, organ); Devonia Williams, George Davis, John Young (piano); Keith Johnson , Bobby Murray (electric piano); Barry Beckett (organ, keyboards); Vonzell Cooper, Carl Banks (organ); Gabriel Mekler, Jim Pugh , Larry Nash, William D. "Smitty" Smith (keyboards); Mike Lawler (synthesizer); Larry Mizell (ARP synthesizer); David Hood (electric bass); Donto Metto James (drums, percussion); Roger Dawkins, Leard Bell, Jeff Porcaro, Al Duncan , Ralph Penland, Roger Hawkins (drums); King Errisson (congas); Maritto Corea, Gary Coleman, Tom Roady (percussion); Henry Jackson Company, Dobie Gray, Jean Mitchell, Mr. William Henry Smith's Jubilee Singers, Rueben Franklin, Joyce Austin, Gilbert Ivey, Jonell Mosser, Merry Clayton, Ashley Cleveland, The Dreamers, Thomas Cain, Carol Chase (background vocals); Cornell Dupree (guitar); Richard Tee (piano, organ, keyboards); Cedar Walton (piano); Johnny Otis, Steve Gadd (drums).
Liner Note Author: Bud Scoppa.
Recording information: Chicago, IL (11/25/1954-??/??/1993); Los Angeles, CA (11/25/1954-??/??/1993); Muscle Shoals, AL (11/25/1954-??/??/1993); Nashville, TN (11/25/1954-??/??/1993); New Orleans, LA (11/25/1954-??/??/1993); New York, NY (11/25/1954-??/??/1993); Riverside, CA (11/25/1954-??/??/1993); The New Era Club, Nashville, TN (11/25/1954-??/??/1993).
Photographer: Jim McCrary.
Unknown Contributor Roles: Gwen Edwards; Jesse Belvin; Jack Hale; Carlena Williams; Quitman Dennis; Michael Haynes.
Arrangers: Cedar Walton; Pee Wee Ellis.
Although there have been many Etta James compilations, 2007's top-notch, two-disc GOLD collection easily stands out as one of the best overviews of the revered R&B/blues vocalist's career. While James (born Jamesetta Hawkins) is inextricably linked with her swooning early-1960s classic "At Last," this impressive set presents 35 other reasons for adulation, including the passionate "Trust in Me" and the lively, horn-laden "Tell Mama," both of which showcase the singer's remarkably powerful and emotive voice. Most James anthologies tend to stop in the '70s, but GOLD commendably extends to 2004 with a spare, simmering take on "The Sky Is Crying" that holds its own with songs she recorded decades earlier. Though THE ESSENTIAL ETTA JAMES can't be beat as an in-depth look at James's heyday, GOLD is inarguably the most wide-ranging set in the performer's extensive catalogue.

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating: Rating 5.0
Based on 5 ratings.
Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!

Similar Products

Music Categories:
Get Email Alerts for Etta James

Product Info

  • Sales Rank: 27,631
  • UPC: 602517166783
  • Shipping Weight: 0.26/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 2 items

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-11pm, Weekends: 10am-10pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)