Diana Ross Lady Sings the Blues [Original Soundtrack]

Lady Sings the Blues [Original Soundtrack]
25 ratings
Only 8 copies left
SUPER SAVINGS: $7.79 Limited Time Only
List Price: $8.99
You Save: $1.20 (13% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 1-3 business days
sku:  YY4R
Brand New

CD Details

  • Released:
  • Originally Released: 1992
  • Label: Motown


  • Buy for $1.291.The Arrest
  • Buy for $1.292.Lady Sings The Blues
  • Buy for $1.293.Baltimore Brothel
  • Buy for $1.294.Billie Sneaks Into Dean & Dean's / Swingin' Uptown
  • Buy for $1.295.T'Ain't Nobody's Bizness If I Do
  • Buy for $1.296.Big Ben / C. C. Rider
  • Buy for $1.297.All Of Me
  • Buy for $1.298.The Man I Love
  • Buy for $1.299.Them There Eyes
  • Buy for $1.2910.Gardenias From Louis
  • Buy for $1.2911.Cafe Manhattan / Had You Been Around / Love Theme
  • Buy for $1.2912.Any Happy Home
  • Buy for $1.2913.I Cried For You (Now It's Your Turn To Cry Over Me)
  • Buy for $1.2914.Billie & Harry / Don't Explain
  • Buy for $1.2915.Mean To Me
  • Buy for $1.2916.Fine And Mellow
  • Buy for $1.2917.What A Little Moonlight Can Do
  • Buy for $1.2918.Louis Visits Billie On Tour / Love Theme
  • Buy for $1.2919.Cafe Manhattan Party
  • Buy for $1.2920.Persuasion / T'Ain't Nobody's Bizness If I Do
  • Buy for $1.2921.Agent's Office
  • Buy for $1.2922.Love Is Here To Stay
  • Buy for $1.2923.Fine And Mellow
  • Buy for $1.2924.Lover Man (Oh, Where Can You Be?)
  • Buy for $1.2925.You've Changed
  • Buy for $1.2926.Gimme A Pigfoot (And A Bottle Of Beer)
  • Buy for $0.9927.Good Morning Heartache
  • Buy for $1.2928.All Of Me
  • Buy for $1.2929.Love Theme
  • Buy for $1.2930.My Man (Mon Homme)
  • Buy for $1.2931.Don't Explain
  • Buy for $1.2932.I Cried For You (Now It's Your Turn To Cry Over Me)
  • Buy for $1.2933.Strange Fruit
  • Buy for $1.2934.God Bless The Child
  • Buy for $1.2935.Closing Theme

Product Description:

Personnel includes: Diana Ross (vocals); John Collins (guitar, banjo); Plas Johnson, Marshall Royal, Ernie Watts (saxophone); Harry "Sweets" Edison, Albert Aamons (trumpet); George Bohanon (trombone); Gerald Wiggins (piano); Red Callender (bass); Earl Palmer (drums).
Personnel: Diana Ross (vocals); John Collins (guitar, banjo); Gill Ashey, Michel Legrand, Oliver Nelson (strings); Caughey Roberts (clarinet, soprano saxophone); Ernie Watts, Georgie Auld, Laughey Roberts, Jack Nimitz, Marshall Royal, Plas Johnson , Buddy Collette (saxophone); Harry "Sweets" Edison , Teddy Buckner, William Cat Anderson, Al Aarons, Bobby Bryant (trumpet); George Bohannon, Grover Mitchell , Henry Coker, Jimmy Cleveland, John Ewing , Maurice Spears (trombone); Don Abney, Chester Lane, Gerald Wiggins (piano); Earl Palmer , Jesse Sailes (drums).
Recording information: Glen Glenn Sound; Mowest Studios.
Editors: Suzanne de Passe; Iris Gordy.
Ensemble: Teddy Buckner.
Arrangers: Gil Askey; Michel Legrand; Oliver Nelson; Benny Golson.
Diana Ross delivered a devastating portrayal of Billie Holliday in her film debut, although jazz purists were mixed on her singing. Some felt she captured the essence of Lady Day, if not the exact sound, while others were less charitable.
Still, both the film and the resulting soundtrack album were huge hits, and it's safe to say that they introduced Holliday's work to a new audience, clearly a good thing. LADY SINGS THE BLUES features Ross performing songs either associated with Holliday ("Good Morning Heartache"), or written by her ("Fine and Mellow"). There are also snippets of dialogue, and excerpts from Michel Legrand's evocative orchestral score.

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating:
Based on 25 ratings.
Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!

Similar Products

Music Categories:
Get Email Alerts for Diana Ross

Product Info

  • Sales Rank: 49,460
  • UPC: 737463075824
  • Shipping Weight: 0.19/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-10pm, Weekends: 10am-9pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)