Aretha Franklin Live at Fillmore West [Rhino] (2-CD)

Live at Fillmore West [Rhino] (2-CD)
18 ratings
Out of Print: Future availability is unknown
Notify Me When Available
Format:  CD  (2 Discs)
sku:  C22E
on most orders of $50+
Brand New

CD Details

  • Number of Discs: 2
  • Released:
  • Originally Released: 2006
  • Label: Atlantic

Entertainment Reviews:

Rolling Stone - 7/22/71, p.36
"...irresistible, simply because when Aretha's good, she's truly inspired..."
Rolling Stone - 9/30/71, p.42
"...the greatest vocal virtuoso in rock today..."
Rolling Stone - 7/22/71, p.36
"...irresistible, simply because when Aretha's good, she's truly inspired..."
Uncut - p.120
3 stars out of 5 - "It all adds up to a rare historical document..."

Tracks on Disc 1:

  • 1.Respect
  • 2.Love The One You're With
  • 3.Bridge Over Troubled Water
  • 4.Eleanor Rigby
  • 5.Make It With You
  • 6.Don't Play That Song
  • 7.Dr. Feelgood
  • 8.Spirit In The Dark
  • 9.Spirit In The Dark - (Reprise)
  • 10.Reach Out & Touch (Somebody's Hand)

Tracks on Disc 2:

  • 1.Respect
  • 2.Call Me
  • 3.Mixed-Up Girl
  • 4.Love The One You're With
  • 5.Bridge Over Troubled Water
  • 6.Share Your Love With Me
  • 7.Eleanor Rigby
  • 8.Make It With You
  • 9.You're All I Need To Get By
  • 10.Don't Play That Song
  • 11.Dr. Feelgood
  • 12.Spirit In The Dark
  • 13.Spirit In The Dark - (Reprise)

Product Description:

Personnel: Aretha Franklin (vocals, electric piano); Ray Charles (vocals, electric piano); King Curtis (soprano & tenor saxophones); Billy Preston (organ).
The Kingpins: Cornell Dupree (guitar); Truman Thomas (electric piano); Jerry Jemmott (bass); Bernard Purdie (drums); Pancho Morales (congas).
The Memphis Horns: Andrew Love, Lou Collins (tenor saxophones); Jimmy Mitchell (baritone saxophone); Wayne Jackson, Roger Hopps (trumpets); Jack Hale (trombone).
The Sweethearts Of Soul: Margaret Branch, Brenda Bryant, Pat Smith (background vocals).
Recorded live at Fillmore West, San Francisco, California on February 5 and 7, 1971. Originally released on Atlantic (7205). Includes liner notes by David Nathan.
Personnel: Aretha Franklin (vocals, electric piano); Aretha Franklin (keyboards); Ray Charles (vocals, keyboards); King Curtis (saxophone); Lou Collins, Andrew Love (tenor saxophone); Jimmy Mitchell (baritone saxophone); Roger Hopps, Wayne Jackson (trumpet); Jack Hale (trombone); Truman Thomas (electric piano); Jerry Jemmott (electric bass); Pancho Morales (congas); Sweethearts Of Soul, Brenda Bryant, Margaret Branch (background vocals); Cornell Dupree (guitar); The Memphis Horns (horns); Billy Preston (organ); Bernard "Pretty" Purdie (drums).
Audio Mixers: Cheryl Pawelski; Brian Kehew.
Audio Remasterer: Daniel Hersch.
Audio Remixer: Arif Mardin.
Liner Note Author: David Nathan .
Recording information: Fillmore West, San Francisco, CA (03/05/1971-03/07/1971).
Editors: Cheryl Pawelski; Daniel Hersch; Brian Kehew.
Photographer: Jim Marshall .
When Aretha Franklin recorded 1971's LIVE AT FILLMORE WEST, she was backed by a group of veteran session musicians on a mix of popular interpretations along with some of her trademark numbers. Opening with Otis Redding's "Respect," Franklin made Stephen Stills' "Love The One You're With" her own with the help of Billy Preston's joyous organ playing while Bread's saccharine "Make It With You" was injected with a healthy shot of sexy sassiness.
Aretha Franklin's underrated piano playing and a healthy display of her gospel roots make FILLMORE one of the more special recordings in Lady Soul's vast canon. Franklin's skill on the eighty-eights particularly shines on her swinging treatment of the Beatles' "Eleanor Rigby" and the jubilant "Don't Play That Song." Franklin also plays electric piano on "Dr. Feelgood," and from this point on she turns Bill Graham's hall into a Baptist church. Between the call-and-response of her background singers and King Curtis' skillful band-leading/saxophone playing, Franklin's high point came when she brought Ray Charles out for the reprise of the testimonial "Spirit In The Dark" followed by the uplifting "Reach Out And Touch (Somebody's Hand)."

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating: Rating 4.7
Based on 18 ratings.
Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!
Get Email Alerts for Aretha Franklin

Product Info

  • Sales Rank: 82,425
  • UPC: 081227762926
  • Shipping Weight: 0.26/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 2 items

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-11pm, Weekends: 10am-10pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)