Aretha Franklin One Lord, One Faith, One Baptism [Bonus Tracks] (Live) (2-CD)

One Lord, One Faith, One Baptism [Bonus Tracks]
12 ratings
Out of Print: Future availability is unknown
Notify Me When Available
Format:  CD  (2 Discs)
sku:  SJX5
on most orders of $50+
Brand New

Related products:

CD Details

  • Number of Discs: 2
  • Released:
  • Originally Released: 2003
  • Label: Arista

Entertainment Reviews:

Rolling Stone
4 Stars - Excellent

Tracks on Disc 1:

  • Buy for $0.991.Walk in the Light
  • Buy for $0.992.Prayer Invocation
  • Buy for $0.993.Introduction of Aretha and the Franklin Sisters
  • Buy for $0.994.Jesus Hears Every Prayer
  • Buy for $0.995.Surely God Is Able
  • Buy for $0.996.The Lord's Prayer
  • Buy for $0.997.Introduction of Aretha and Mavis Staples
  • Buy for $0.998.Oh Happy Day
  • Buy for $0.999.We Need Power
  • Buy for $0.9910.Speech

Tracks on Disc 2:

  • Buy for $0.991.Ave Maria
  • Buy for $0.992.Introduction to Higher Ground
  • Buy for $0.993.Higher Ground
  • Buy for $0.994.Prayer Invocation
  • Buy for $0.995.I've Been in the Storm Too Long
  • Buy for $0.996.Packing Up, Getting Ready to Go
  • Buy for $0.997.Be Grateful - (previously unreleased)
  • Buy for $0.998.Beams of Heaven - (previously unreleased)
  • Buy for $0.999.Father, I Stretch My Hands to Thee - (previously unreleased)
  • Buy for $0.9910.Packing Up, Getting Ready to Go - (previously unreleased, alternate version)

Product Description:

Personnel: Aretha Franklin, Mavis Staples, Joe Ligon, The Franklin Sisters (vocals); Reverend Cecil Franklin, Reverend Jesse Jackson, Reverend Jaspar Williams, Reverend Donald Parsons (spoken vocals); Michael Wright (guitar); Nick Johnson (piano); Earl J. Wright (organ); Lanar Brantley (bass); Dana Davis (percussion); Margaret Branch, Renee Thomas, Ortheia Barnes, Sandra Feva (background vocals).
Recorded at the New Bethel Baptist Church, Detroit, Michigan in July 1987. Includes liner notes by David Nathan.
This is part of Arista Records "Original Masters" series.
Personnel: Erma Franklin, Brenda Corbett, Carolyn Franklin (vocals); Michael Wright (guitar); Thomas Whitfield (piano, organ); Nick Johnson (piano); Earl Wright, Jr. (organ); Dana Davis (percussion); Ortheia Barnes, Renee Thomas, Sandra Feva, Margaret Branch (background vocals).
Audio Mixer: Michael Iacopelli.
Liner Note Author: Aretha Franklin.
Recording information: New Bethel Baptist Church, Detroit, MI (07/27/1987-07/30/1987).
Arrangers: Joe Ligon; Aretha Franklin; Thomas Whitfield.
Fifteen years after Amazing Grace, her groundbreaking gospel record, Aretha Franklin returned to the church yet again, and though the results couldn't top the wall-to-wall power and spirit found on her first, the double-album One Lord, One Faith, One Baptism, it's still a worthy document of what the church meant to her. The roster of invited guests was enough to get gospel fans excited, including the Rev. Jesse Jackson, Rev. Jasper Williams, and Rev. C.L. Franklin (her brother, who delivered the invocation), plus Mavis Staples, Joe Ligon (from the Mighty Clouds of Joy), and her sisters, Carol and Erma. Slotted next to sanctified standards like "Surely God Is Able" and "The Lord's Prayer," were several great selections from the pop repertoire, including a scorching version of "Higher Ground." Staples stops by for an ebullient run through the latter-day standard "Oh Happy Day," and the performance closes with a touching finale, "Packing Up, Getting Ready to Go," featuring Staples and Ligon, plus Carol and Erma Franklin. ~ John Bush

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating: Rating 3.7
Based on 12 ratings.
Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!
Get Email Alerts for Aretha Franklin

Product Info

  • UPC: 828765035026
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 2 items

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-10pm, Weekends: 10am-10pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)