Richard Smallwood Journeys: Live in New York (2-CD)

Journeys: Live in New York (2-CD)
27 ratings
Price: $15.49
List Price: $15.99
You Save: $0.50 (3% Off)
Currently Out of Stock: We'll get more as soon as possible
Notify Me When Available
Format:  CD  (2 Discs)
sku:  32284
on most orders of $50+
Brand New

Related products:

CD Details

  • Released: June 5, 2007
  • Label: Verity

Tracks on Disc 1:

  • 1.Introduction (His-Story)
  • 2.I Won't Give up (Richard's Testimony)
  • 3.Journey - (with Kim Burrell)
  • 4.I'll Trust You
  • 5.Praise Break
  • 6.We Worship You - (with Janice Chandler-Eteme)
  • 7.Holy Holy - (with The Richard Smallwood Singers)

Tracks on Disc 2:

  • 1.All the Glory
  • 2.Morning's Breaking - (with Kelly Price)
  • 3.Morning's Breaking - (Reprise)
  • 4.We've Come Too Far - (with Hawkins Family)
  • 5.He Won't Leave You - (with The Richard Smallwood Singers)
  • 6.Precious Is Your Name - (with Chaka Khan)
  • 7.Precious Is Your Name - (reprise)
  • 8.Journey's End
  • 9.Dedication to Mom: I'd Rather Have Jesus
  • 10.I'll Trust You - (Performance track)
  • 11.I'll Trust You - (instrumental)
  • 12.Holy Holy - (instrumental)

Product Description:

Personnel: Richard Smallwood (piano); Andrea Dumas, Maurette Brown Clark, Raymond Reeder, Tedd Winn (vocals); Vision (background vocals).
Recorded in 2005 at various venues including the Hammerstein Ballroom in N.Y.C., this vibrant, spiritually uplifting two-disc set celebrates the renowned multiple Grammy and Stellar Award-winning performer's quarter century as a recording artist. Between the concerts and the album's release, Richard Smallwood cemented his place in his genre's history with his induction into the Gospel Music Hall of Fame. One would think with that kind of background -- he's the forerunner to later singer/producer/big-show ringleaders like Kirk Franklin -- listeners wouldn't have to be subjected right off the bat to the somewhat self-indulgent spoken biography that introduces disc one. Fortunately, Smallwood and his numerous all-star guests let their faith and exciting vocals and rhythms speak for themselves after that. Smallwood offers his own testimony in song on "I Won't Give Up" and then the parade of legends and future legends begins, led by Kim Burrell's rousing "Journey" and Smallwood's stirring anthem "I'll Trust You" backed by Vision, his 21-voice choir since the mid-'90s. The powerhouse soul vocals of Burrell, R&B star Kelly Price (on the searing ballad "Morning's Breaking"), and the famed Chaka Khan (the pop-jazzy breezes of "Precious Is Your Name") are balanced by the intense operatic magic of Janice Chandler-Eteme's lead voice on "We Worship You." The powerful vocal soloing is complemented by one of the concert's best tracks, the lively toe-tapping "We've Come Too Far," sung in perfect harmony by the renowned Hawkins Family. The set closes with the collection's lone studio track, "I'd Rather Have Jesus," rendered tenderly by Smallwood sitting alone at the acoustic piano. The story goes that this was the only song he ever heard his mother -- the rock and foundation of her son's life -- play on the piano. As the concert well illustrates, praise songs are as fun and funky as music gets. But sometimes, as Smallwood shows on this last track, a simple note of gratitude to God communicates volumes. ~ Jonathan Widran

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating: Rating 4.3
Based on 27 ratings.
Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!
Get Email Alerts for Richard Smallwood

Product Info

  • UPC: 828766222623
  • Shipping Weight: 0.27/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-11pm, Weekends: 10am-10pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)