The Kingston Trio Sold Out / String Along

Sold Out / String Along
12 ratings
Price: $17.08
List Price: $18.98
You Save: $1.90 (10% Off)
Currently Out of Stock: We'll get more as soon as possible
Notify Me When Available
Format:  CD
sku:  SKV8
on most orders of $50+
Brand New

Related products:

CD Details

  • Released: December 15, 2004
  • Originally Released: 2004
  • Label: Collector's Choice


  • 1.El Matador
  • 2.The Mountains O'Mourne
  • 3.Don't Cry Katie
  • 4.Tanga Tika / Toerau
  • 5.With Her Head Tucked Underneath Her Arm
  • 6.Carrier Pigeon
  • 7.Bimini
  • 8.Raspberries, Strawberries
  • 9.Mangawani Mpulele
  • 10.With You My Johnny
  • 11.The Hunter
  • 12.Farewell Adelita
  • 13.Bad Man's Blunder
  • 14.The Escape Of Old John Webb
  • 15.When I Was Young
  • 16.Leave My Woman Alone
  • 17.This Mornin', This Evenin', So Soon
  • 18.Everglades
  • 19.Buddy Better Get On Down The Line
  • 20.South Wind
  • 21.Who's Gonna Hold Her Hand
  • 22.To Morrow
  • 23.Colorado Trail
  • 24.The Tattooed Lady
  • 25.The Tattooed Lady
  • 26.The Hunter
  • 27.Home From The Hill
  • 28.Green Grasses

Product Description:

The Kingston Trio: Dave Guard (6 & 12-string guitars, banjo, vocals), Bob Shane (guitar, 4-string banjo, vocals), Nick Reynolds (4-string guitar, bongos, conga, vocals).
Additional personnel: Dave "Buck" Wheat (bass).
SOLD OUT was recorded in New York City in February, 1960. STRING ALONG WITH THE KINGSTON TRIO was recorded at Capitol's Studio B, Los Angeles in July, 1960.
2 LPs on 1 CD.
By 1959, the Kingston Trio had reached mass popularity, won a Grammy, and had even begun to record their music in stereo. While their reign as the world's most popular folk act remained unchallenged, many within the folk community were critical of the group. Writers in magazines like Sing Out! argued that the trio's music had little to do with "real" folk music. Their smooth harmonies and evasion of political controversies placed them at odds with the spirit of Woody Guthrie and the aesthetic of the Anthology of American Folk Music. Like the Weavers before them, however, their fans could have cared less. Even though an effort like Sold Out found the group basically sticking to the formula of earlier albums, their fans kept it on the Top 40 for 54 weeks. The follow up, String Along, became their fifth studio album in a row to go to number one. A number of nice cuts grace both albums, including the humorous "Bad Man's Blunder," the driving "Leave My Woman Alone," and the Mexican-flavored "El Matador." One should also check out the bizarre ballad of Ann Bolin's ghost, "With Her Head Tucked Underneath Her Arm." As with other pairings in this series, Collectors' Choice has included several outtakes to sweeten the package. Sold Out/String Along provides 65 minutes of prime music from the heady days of the folk revival and will be warmly appreciated by fans. ~ Ronnie D. Lankford, Jr.

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating:
Based on 12 ratings.
Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!
Get Email Alerts for The Kingston Trio

Product Info

  • UPC: 617742022520
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-11pm, Weekends: 10am-10pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)