The Everly Brothers The New Album: Previously Unreleased Songs from the Early Sixties

The New Album: Previously Unreleased Songs from
2 ratings
Price: $12.58
List Price: $13.98
You Save: $1.40 (10% Off)
Currently Out of Stock: We'll get more as soon as possible
Notify Me When Available
Format:  CD
sku:  SKKC
on most orders of $50+
Brand New

CD Details

  • Released: May 16, 2005
  • Originally Released: 2005
  • Label: Collector's Choice


  • 1.Silent Treatment
  • 2.Dancing On My Feet
  • 3.Gran Mamou
  • 4.Burma Shave
  • 5.Nancy's Minuet
  • 6.He's Got My Sympathy
  • 7.Little Hollywood Girl
  • 8.Omaha
  • 9.Empty Boxes
  • 10.I Can't Say Goodbye
  • 11.Nothing Matters But You
  • 12.When Snowflakes Fall In The Summer
  • 13.I'll Se Your Light
  • 14.Why Not

Product Description:

Liner Note Author: Richie Unterberger.
The Everly Brothers completed their contract with Warner Bros. Records in 1970, and they broke up in 1973. It is an interesting question, therefore, how the British division of Warner Bros. could have released an Everly Brothers LP pointedly called The New Album in 1977 (an album belatedly issued in the U.S. by the mail-order company Collectors' Choice Music 28 years later in 2005). The answer, of course, is that the deceptively titled collection consists of tracks recorded by the Everlys for Warner Bros. in the '60s, all of them, with the exception of the 1968 B-side single "Empty Boxes," are previously unreleased. "Nancy's Minuet" was also a B-side, but the version here is an alternate take, and Don Everly re-recorded "Omaha" for his 1970 solo album Don Everly. Otherwise, these are songs that never got out of the recording studio. They provide a short history in the Everlys' work of the '60s, with the earlier tracks, such as the opening number, "Silent Treatment" and the closing one, "Why Not," both recorded in 1960, harking back to their classic '50s sound; mid-'60s efforts like "Nothing Matters But You" and "I'll See Your Light" chasing the post-British Invasion trend; and 1968 recordings "Omaha" and "Empty Boxes" showing the reinvented acoustic style they would pursue on the Roots LP released at the end of that year. Songwriters include the Brill Building teams Gerry Goffin/Carole King and Barry Mann/Cynthia Weil, as well as Roger Miller, John D. Loudermilk, and the Everlys themselves, so the quality of the songs holds up, and it's possible to imagine several of these tracks being hits in an alternate universe in which the Everly Brothers continued to be big recording stars after the early '60s. ~ William Ruhlmann

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating: Rating 4.0
Based on 2 ratings.
Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!
Get Email Alerts for The Everly Brothers

Product Info

  • UPC: 617742056327
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-11pm, Weekends: 10am-10pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)