The Everly Brothers Roots

19 ratings
Price: $12.58
List Price: $13.98
You Save: $1.40 (10% Off)
Currently Out of Stock: We'll get more as soon as possible
Notify Me When Available
Format:  CD
sku:  SKK9
on most orders of $50+
Brand New

Related products:

CD Details

  • Released: May 16, 2005
  • Originally Released: 2005
  • Label: Collector's Choice

Entertainment Reviews:

Rolling Stone - 5/31/69, p.36
"...a warm, sentimental album that is nostalgic and contemporary at the same time....Anybody interested in the so-called country revival now sweeping rock should pick up this album. It's right fine..."
Q - 10/95, p.138
4 Stars - "...a modern country classic with sterling contributions..."


  • 1.The Everly Family (1952)
  • 2.Mama Tried
  • 3.Less Of Me
  • 4.T For Texas
  • 5.I Wonder If I Care As Much
  • 6.Ventura Boulevard
  • 7.Shady Grove
  • 8.Illinois
  • 9.Living Too Close To The Ground
  • 10.You Done Me Wrong
  • 11.Turn Around
  • 12.Sing Me Back Home
  • 13.The Montage: Everly Family (1952) / Shady Grove / Kentucky

Product Description:

The Everly Brothers: Don Everly, Phil Everly (vocals, guitar).
Additional personnel: Ron Elliott, David Cohen, Sam McCue (guitar), Buddy Emmons (steel guitar), Bobby Bruce (fiddle), Larry Knechtel (piano), Joe Osborne, Terry Slater (bass), Hal Blaine (drums); Randy Newman, James Burton, Jim Gordon, Van Dyke Parks.
Engineers: Mike Shields, Lee Herschberg, John Neil.
Liner Note Author: Richie Unterberger.
The Everly Brothers may be best known for their late-1950s pop hits, but their story really begins in Appalachian country. A cultural change in the late 1960s brought with it a broader, worldlier concept of popular music, and, in '68, the boys took another route, reviving, with great clarity of purpose, their own Kentuckian heritage.
On ROOTS, the Everly Brothers use their characteristic close-knit harmonies on the folksy ballad "Living Too Close to the Ground" and the bluegrass-influenced "Less of Me." Listeners can certainly hear the influence of the Louvin Brothers on these tracks. This music is not purebred country, though. There are divergences, especially on the tripped-out intro to "I Wonder If I Care as Much," a song that begins with a swirling feedback guitar and Beatles-esque tom-tom fills. A smartly produced album, ROOTS successfully combines the Everlys' country pedigree with dashes of pop, and a good dose of moody, coming-of-age lyrics.

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating:
Based on 19 ratings.
Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!
Get Email Alerts for The Everly Brothers

Product Info

  • UPC: 617742056129
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-11pm, Weekends: 10am-10pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)