The Everly Brothers The Everly Brothers Show (Live)

The Everly Brothers Show (Live)
1 rating
Price: $17.08
Currently Out of Stock: We'll get more as soon as possible
Notify Me When Available
Format:  CD
sku:  SKJX
on most orders of $50+
Brand New

CD Details

  • Released:
  • Originally Released: 2005
  • Label: Collector's Choice


  • 1.Introduction
  • 2.Mama Tried
  • 3.Kentucky
  • 4.Bowling Green
  • 5.('Til) I Kissed You
  • 6.Wake Up Little Susie
  • 7.Cathy's Clown
  • 8.Bird Song
  • 9.Maybeliene
  • 10.Rock And Roll MusicThe End / Aquarius / If I Were A Carpenter / The Price Of Love / Thill Is Gone,
  • 11.Baby What You Want Me To Do
  • 12.All I Have To Do Is Dream
  • 13.Walk Right Back
  • 14.Susie Q / Hey Jude
  • 15.Lord Of The Manor
  • 16.I Wonder If I Care As Much
  • 17.Love Is Strange
  • 18.Let It Be Me / Give Peace A Chance

Product Description:

The Everly Brothers: Don Everly, Phil Everly (vocals); Sam McCue (guitar); Robert Knigge (bass guitar); Tiny Schneider (drums).
On Wednesday, July 8, 1970, at 9 p.m. EDT, the ABC television network broadcast the first of 11 weekly episodes of The Everly Brothers Show, a one-hour musical variety program that was the summer replacement for The Johnny Cash Show. The same month, Warner Bros. Records released a double LP (later reissued as a single CD) also called The Everly Brothers Show. But the album was not a soundtrack to the TV series; it was a live recording that had been made five months earlier at the Grand Hotel in Anaheim, CA, at which the duo of Don and Phil Everly, backed by an electric guitar/bass/drums trio, played a mixture of their old hits, some newer songs, and various cover material. There was a sort of autobiographical structure to the show, at least at first, as Don Everly began with a spoken introduction that harked back to the brothers' youth, leading into a series of songs loosely related to that youth -- "Mama Tried," "Kentucky," and "Bowling Green" -- followed by a batch of their hits. After a cover of Chuck Berry's "Maybellene," there was a lengthy medley of rock & roll songs, then a string of ballads. But, as Don Everly's sardonic remarks suggested, it was all taken in a simultaneously off-hand and dismissive manner. The brothers' fast numbers "('Til) I Kissed You," "Wake Up Little Susie," "Cathy's Clown," and "Bird Dog," were taken at breakneck tempos, as if to get them out of the way, while the ballads that came toward the end, "All I Have to Do Is Dream," "Walk Right Back," "I Wonder If I Care as Much," and "Let It Be Me," were slowed down. The strangest section was the rock & roll medley, eighteen-and-a-half minutes of seemingly random snatches of songs including Berry's "Rock and Roll Music," the Beatles' "The End," "Aquarius" from Hair, "If I Were a Carpenter," the Everlys' own "The Price of Love," "The Thrill Is Gone," and "The Games People Play," with riffs from other songs thrown in, and including drum and bass solos (a standard indulgence of the time, admittedly). The duo displayed a bizarre Beatles obsession that included appending the coda from "Hey Jude" to "Susie Q" and even turning "Let It Be Me" into "Give Peace a Chance" at the end. Their harmonies were as attractive as ever, but this was not a live album that showed off their stage talents to advantage. ~ William Ruhlmann

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!
Get Email Alerts for The Everly Brothers

Product Info

  • UPC: 617742056228
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-11pm, Weekends: 10am-10pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)