The Brothers Four Sing of Our Times / The Honey Wind Blows

Sing of Our Times / The Honey Wind Blows
10 ratings
Price: $17.08
List Price: $17.98
You Save: $0.90 (5% Off)
Currently Out of Stock: We'll get more as soon as possible
Notify Me When Available
Format:  CD
sku:  SKHC
on most orders of $50+
Brand New

Related products:

CD Details

  • Released:
  • Originally Released: 2004
  • Label: Collector's Choice


  • 1.Long Ago, Far Away
  • 2.Seven Daffodils
  • 3.The Monkey And The Engineer
  • 4.Tomorrow Is A Long Time
  • 5.Spring Hill Mine Disaster
  • 6.Dance Me A Jig
  • 7.Take This Hammer
  • 8.Four Strong Winds
  • 9.Beans Taste Fine
  • 10.Ballad Of Moreton Bay
  • 11.Plane Wreck At Los Gatos (Deportees)
  • 12.Daddy Roll 'Em
  • 13.House Of The Rising Sun
  • 14.Somewhere
  • 15.Lazy Harry's
  • 16.Poverty Hill
  • 17.Feed The Birds
  • 18.Nancy O
  • 19.The Honey Wind Blows
  • 20.Cleano
  • 21.Turn Around
  • 22.The Waves Roll Out
  • 23.Little Play Soldiers
  • 24.Mr. Tambourine Man
  • 25.Hootenanny Saturday Night

Product Description:

Originally released on Columbia Records.
This CD contains a pair of pivotal long-players from the Brothers Four. By 1964 Bob Flick (upright bass, baritone, bass), John Paine (guitar, baritone), Mike Kirkland (guitar, banjo, tenor), and Dick Foley (guitar, baritone) were members of one of the most successful folk vocal groups of the era and had likewise begun to established themselves internationally. While their All-American, nonconfrontational, good-time persona was part of the quartet's appeal, it was also the thing that kept them from becoming socially -- and arguably musically -- relevant during the mid-to-late '60s. Sing of Our Times (1964) and The Honey Wind Blows (1965) are definite reflections of the rapidly changing pop landscape. Especially notable is the obvious effect that it had not only on the song selection, but the actual arrangements as well. As the title would suggest, Sing of Our Times is a concerted attempt to gather concurrent material from within the burgeoning folk scenes -- such as Bob Dylan's "Tomorrow Is a Long Time" and "Long Ago, Far Away," Shel Silverstein's "Beans Taste Fine," and Bay Area one-man-band Jesse "Lone Cat" Fuller's "Monkey and the Engineer." Among the less dated readings are "Seven Daffodils" and "Four Strong Winds." On the other hand, "Spring Hill Mine Disaster" lacks definition or distinguishing earmarks to discern it from most any other rendering. In the wake of the electric folk/rock, The Honey Wind Blows seems like an effort torn between the modernization of tunes such as "House of the Rising Sun" and the loose acoustic jangle incorporated into the cover of "Mr. Tambourine Man." However, when the incongruously chipper vocals kick in, all relevancy and credibility is essentially lost in light of the Byrds' definitive interpretation. Although a core audience remained for the Brothers Four, their innocuous vibe would quickly become replaced by amplified roots and rock from both sides of the Atlantic. In 2004, Collectors' Choice Music issued Sing of Our Times/The Honey Wind Blows on a two-on-one compact disc, making each available for the first time in decades. ~ Lindsay Planer

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating:
Based on 10 ratings.
Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!
Get Email Alerts for The Brothers Four

Product Info

  • UPC: 617742039726
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-11pm, Weekends: 10am-10pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)