Spike Jones Not Your Standard Spike Jones Collection (3-CD)

Not Your Standard Spike Jones Collection (3-CD)
1 rating
Price: $31.48
You Save: $0.50 (2% Off)
Currently Out of Stock: We'll get more as soon as possible
Notify Me When Available
Format:  CD  (3 Discs)
sku:  J8G3
on most orders of $50+
Brand New

Related products:

CD Details

  • Number of Discs: 3
  • Released:
  • Originally Released: 2004
  • Label: Collector's Choice

Tracks on Disc 1:

  • 1.The Sheik Of Araby
  • 2.I'm Going To Write Home
  • 3.Three Little Words
  • 4.You're A Sap Mister Jap
  • 5.Never Hit Your Grandma With A Shovel
  • 6.Cocktails For Two
  • 7.Mary Lou
  • 8.He Broke My Heart In Three Places
  • 9.Sailin' On The Robert E. Lee
  • 10.The Great Big Saw Came Nearer And Nearer
  • 11.His Rocking Horse Ran Away
  • 12.Oh How She Lied To Me
  • 13.Toot, Toot Tootsie! (Goodbye)
  • 14.You Always Hurt The One You Love
  • 15.Chlo-E
  • 16.The Blue Danube
  • 17.That Old Black Magic
  • 18.Holiday For Strings
  • 19.No, No, Nora
  • 20.Hi Neighbour
  • 21.Behind The Swingin' Doors
  • 22.Clink Clink Another Drink
  • 23.Barstool Cowboy From Old Barstow
  • 24.Moo Woo Woo
  • 25.Fort Worth Jail
  • 26.Pass The Biscuits Mirandy

Tracks on Disc 2:

  • 1.Over The Last Horizon
  • 2.Don't Talk To Me About Women
  • 3.Big Bad Bill
  • 4.Trailer Annie
  • 5.Siam
  • 6.Hotcha Cornia (Hotcha Chornya
  • 7.Hey, Mable
  • 8.Boogie Woogie
  • 9.Dodging A Gal From Dodge City
  • 10.Serenade To A Jerk
  • 11.Ridin' Home With You
  • 12.Now Laugh
  • 13.That's What Makes The World Go 'Round
  • 14.Don't Give The Chair To Buster
  • 15.Forty Eight Reasons Why
  • 16.De Camptown Races With Gestures
  • 17.The Blacksmith Song
  • 18.Der Fuehrer's Face
  • 19.I Wanna Go Back To West Virginia
  • 20.Water Lou
  • 21.St-St-St-Stella
  • 22.I Know A Story
  • 23.Hi-Ho, My Lady
  • 24.John Scotter Trot
  • 25.Cheatin' On The Sandman
  • 26.Girl I Left Behind Me
  • 27.Camptown Races #2

Tracks on Disc 3:

  • 1.Come Josephine In My Flying Machine
  • 2.Love For Sale
  • 3.Moanin' Low
  • 4.Horsie Keep Your Tail Up
  • 5.Yankee Doodler
  • 6.Down In Jungle Town
  • 7.Whittle Out A Whistle
  • 8.By The Beautiful Sea
  • 9.At Last I'm First With You
  • 10.Liebestraum
  • 11.City Slicker Polka
  • 12.Red Grow The Roses
  • 13.Jamboree Jones
  • 14.Down By The O-H-I-O
  • 15.Casey Jones
  • 16.The Glow Worm
  • 17.Red Wing
  • 18.Row, Row, Row
  • 19.Pack Up Your Troubles In Your Old Kit Bag And Smile, Smile, Smile
  • 20.They Go Wild, Simply Wild About Me
  • 21.Oh By Jingo
  • 22.When Buddha Smiles
  • 23.It Had To Be You
  • 24.Paddlin' Madeline Home
  • 25.Little Bo Peep Has Lost Her Jeep
  • 26.The Sailor With The Navy Blue Eyes

Product Description:

Spike Jones' free-for-all approach, satirizing and parodying everything in sight, came into its own during World War II, a time when his humor provided needed relief for troops abroad and those waiting at home. Not Your Standard Spike Jones Collection brings together three discs (over three hours of music) of material from radio transcriptions recorded during the war. It isn't surprising, then, that a number of Jones' songs poke fun at the enemy, nor that his first gold record was "Der Fuehrer's Face." While Carl Grayson's delivery, complete with a bad German accent, is funny enough, Jones' band's musical commentary provides the perfect backdrop. Of course, certain songs like "You're a Sap Mister Jap" will seem offensive today, but these transcriptions serve as a historical document as much as entertainment. There are also great versions of classics like "Sheik of Araby" and "That Old Black Magic," with Jones and his musical partners turning the most romantic song inside out. Bells, whistles, trombones, and banjos raise a ruckus, reminding one of a New Orleans jazz band that refuses to take its work seriously. Listeners will also not want to miss such oddities as "Boogie Woogie Cowboy" and "City Slicker Polka." The 79 selections on Not Your Standard Spike Jones Collection provide a welcome overview of the bandleader's work from the 1940s and a nice snapshot of the era. ~ Ronnie Lankford, Jr.

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!
Get Email Alerts for Spike Jones

Product Info

  • UPC: 617742032925
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 3 items

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-11pm, Weekends: 10am-10pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)