The Complete Helen Forrest with Benny Goodman (3-CD)

The Complete Helen Forrest with Benny Goodman
4 ratings
Price: $37.78
Currently Out of Stock: We'll get more as soon as possible
Notify Me When Available
Format:  CD  (3 Discs)
sku:  SKW8
on most orders of $50+
Brand New

Related products:

CD Details

  • Number of Discs: 3
  • Released: December 15, 2004
  • Originally Released: 2004
  • Label: Collector's Choice

Tracks on Disc 1:

  • 1.Busy As A Bee (I'm Buzz, Buzz, Buzzin')
  • 2.What's The Matter With Me?
  • 3.What'll They Think Of Next?
  • 4.How High The Moon
  • 5.Let's All Sing Together
  • 6.The Fable Of The Rose
  • 7.Shake Down The Stars
  • 8.Be Sure
  • 9.Yours Is My Heart Alone
  • 10.The Sky Fell Down
  • 11.It Never Entered My Mind
  • 12.Once More
  • 13.Buds Won't Bud
  • 14.Devil May Care
  • 15.I'm Nobody's Baby
  • 16.I Can't Love You Any More (Any More Than I Do)
  • 17.Ev'ry Sunday Afternoon
  • 18.The Moon Won't Walk
  • 19.Mister Meadowlark
  • 20.I Can't Love You Any More (Any More Than I Do)

Tracks on Disc 2:

  • 1.I Can't Resist You
  • 2.Dreaming Out Loud
  • 3.Li'l Boy Love
  • 4.Nobody
  • 5.The Man I Love
  • 6.Taking A Chance On Love
  • 7.Cabin In The Sky
  • 8.Hard To Get
  • 9.These Things You Left Me
  • 10.More Than You Know
  • 11.Yes, My Darling Daughter
  • 12.I'm Always Chasing Rainbows
  • 13.I Left My Heart In Your Hand
  • 14.I Hear A Rhapsody
  • 15.It's Always You
  • 16.Corn Silk
  • 17.Birds Of A Feather

Tracks on Disc 3:

  • 1.You're Dangerous
  • 2.The Mem'ry Of A Rose
  • 3.This Is New
  • 4.Perfidia (Tonight)
  • 5.Bewitched
  • 6.Jenny
  • 7.Lazy River
  • 8.Yours
  • 9.You Lucky People, You
  • 10.Oh! Look At Me Now!
  • 11.My Sister And I
  • 12.Amapola (Pretty Little Poppy)
  • 13.Good Evenin, Good Lookin'
  • 14.I Found A Million Dollar Baby (In A Five And Ten Cent Store)
  • 15.When The Sun Comes Out
  • 16.Smoke Gets In Your Eyes, (When Your Heart's On Fire)
  • 17.Soft As Spring
  • 18.Down, Down, Down (What A Song)

Product Description:

Personnel: Helen Forrest (vocals); Benny Goodman & His Orchestra (vocals).
Liner Note Author: Joseph F. Laredo.
Recording information: 12/27/1939-06/11/1941.
Appearing with Artie Shaw, Benny Goodman, and Harry James during the late '30s and early '40s, Helen Forrest became one of the most popular swing era singers -- even vocal authority Mel Torm‚ named her his favorite, male or female. Though her voice wasn't quite as clear as Doris Day's, Forrest was an excellent interpreter, and her sweet vocals proved a solid foil for the Benny Goodman band during 1940 and half of 1941. Collectors' Choice compiled her complete appearances with Goodman on three discs, though they're hardly overloaded at 55 tracks total. The package makes for a lot of great material, including her biggest hits while there, "How High the Moon" and "I Can't Love You Any More (Any More Than I Do)," the latter recorded with top swing guitarist Charlie Christian. Also featured is a previously unreleased track featuring Goodman's own competent vocal (reminiscent of Hoagy Carmichael) on "Jenny." ~ John Bush

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating:
Based on 4 ratings.
Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!
Get Email Alerts for Helen Forrest

Product Info

  • UPC: 617742024524
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 3 items

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-11pm, Weekends: 10am-10pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)