Faron Young The Complete Capitol Hits of Faron Young (2-CD)

The Complete Capitol Hits of Faron Young (2-CD)
7 ratings
Price: $29.68
List Price: $31.98
You Save: $2.30 (7% Off)
Currently Out of Stock: We'll get more as soon as possible
Notify Me When Available
Format:  CD  (2 Discs)
sku:  FAGJ
on most orders of $50+
Brand New

CD Details

  • Number of Discs: 2
  • Released: April 30, 2001
  • Originally Released: 2004
  • Label: Collector's Choice

Tracks on Disc 1:

  • 1.Goin' Steady
  • 2.I Can't Wait (For The Sun To Go Down)
  • 3.A Place For Girls Like You
  • 4.If You Ain't Lovin' (You Ain't Livin')
  • 5.Live Fast, Love Hard, Die Young
  • 6.Forgive Me, Dear
  • 7.All Right
  • 8.Go Back You Fool
  • 9.It's A Great Life (If You Don't Weaken)
  • 10.For The Love Of A Woman Like You
  • 11.You're Still Mine
  • 12.I've Got Five Dollars And It's Saturday Night
  • 13.Sweet Dreams
  • 14.Until I Met You
  • 15.Turn Her Down
  • 16.I'll Be Satisfied With Love
  • 17.I Miss You Already (And You're Not Even Gone)
  • 18.I'm Gonna Live Some Before I Die
  • 19.The Shrine Of St. Cecilia
  • 20.Love Has Finally Come My Way
  • 21.Alone With You

Tracks on Disc 2:

  • 1.Everytime I'm Kissing You
  • 2.That's The Way I Feel
  • 3.I Hate Myself
  • 4.A Long Time Ago
  • 5.Last Night At A Party
  • 6.That's The Way It's Gotta Be
  • 7.Country Girl
  • 8.I Hear You Talkin'
  • 9.Riverboat
  • 10.Face To The Wall
  • 11.Your Old Used To Be
  • 12.There's Not Any Like You Left
  • 13.Forget The Past
  • 14.A World So Full Of Love
  • 15.Hello Walls
  • 16.Congratulations
  • 17.Backtrack
  • 18.Three Days
  • 19.The Comeback
  • 20.Down By The River

Product Description:

Personnel includes: Faron Young (vocals, guitar); The Hubert Long Choir, The Jordanaires.
Includes liner notes by Colin Escott.
Liner Note Author: Colin Escott.
This is a truly excellent double-disc collection by one of the great, unjustly overlooked honky-tonkers. From his first hit, "Goin' Steady," in 1952, to "The Comeback" 10 years later, Faron Young recorded a steady stream of singles for Capitol, most of which reached the country charts, making Young a superstar. Despite a deep debt to Hank Williams ("Goin' Steady," though credited to Young, is actually a Williams song; Williams gave it to Young after stealing his girlfriend), Young stakes his claim to the genre with a half-hillbilly/half-pop singing style and a masterful command of his material.
All of Young's biggest hits are here, including the impossibly catchy "Live Fast, Love Hard, Die Young," Young's self-penned "All Right," the jaunty "Alone with You," the Elvis-inspired "Country Girl," and his timeless take on Willie Nelson's "Hello Walls" (Young was one of the first to record Nelson's work). Though cleaner and more commercial than some of the raw-edged honky-tonk that preceded him (and that followed him in later roots revivals), Young's performances are of a remarkably high caliber, making this set an essential addition to any traditional-country library.

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating:
Based on 7 ratings.
Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!
Get Email Alerts for Faron Young

Product Info

  • UPC: 617742016222
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 2 items

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-11pm, Weekends: 10am-10pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)