The Delta Rhythm Boys Masters of Hip Harmony (Live)

Masters of Hip Harmony (Live)
2 ratings
Price: $17.08
List Price: $17.98
You Save: $0.90 (5% Off)
Currently Out of Stock: We'll get more as soon as possible
Notify Me When Available
Format:  CD
sku:  33DQ3
on most orders of $50+
Brand New

CD Details

  • Released: December 15, 2004
  • Originally Released: 2004
  • Label: Collector's Choice


  • 1.There'll Be Some Changes Made
  • 2.It All Comes Back To Me Now
  • 3.Give Me Some Skin
  • 4.Georgia On My Mind
  • 5.Bugle Woogie
  • 6.Dry Bones
  • 7.Jersey Bounce
  • 8.Trav'lin Light
  • 9.Is You Or Is You Ain't My Baby?
  • 10.Knock Me A Kiss
  • 11.One O'Clock Jump
  • 12.Paper Doll
  • 13.Take The A Train
  • 14.St. Louis Blues
  • 15.Are You Fer It?
  • 16.Don't Get Around Much Anymore
  • 17.Good News
  • 18.The House I Live In
  • 19.It's Only A Paper Moon
  • 20.Just A Sittin' And A Rockin'

Product Description:

Delta Rhythm Boys: Clinton Holland, Traverse Crawford, Rene DeKnight, Harry Lewis, Lee Gaines.
Additional personnel: Mildred Bailey.
Recorded at AFRS radio between 1941 & 1945.
The Delta Rhythm Boys came up in the late '30s and early '40s, around the same time as the Ink Spots and the Mills Brothers, both of which worked in a similar kind of pre-doo wop harmony style. But history has not been as kind to the Delta Rhythm Boys as to the latter groups, despite their significant accomplishments. (Not only did they contribute substantially to the development of the harmony ensemble style, but founding member Lee Gaines wrote lyrics to such popular jazz standards of the time as "Take the 'A' Train," "One O'Clock Jump," and "Just A-Sittin' and A-Rockin'"). Masters of Hip Harmony is a collection of tracks taken from their radio broadcasts in 1944; it's about evenly split between material recorded for broadcast to American soldiers over the Armed Forces Radio Service and other songs recorded for a radio show called California Melodies, with Frank DeVol & His Orchestra. The best tracks here are those that find them harmonizing behind the great Mildred Bailey, who worked with them frequently during this period. Highlights from this material include "There'll Be Some Changes Made" and an unusually businesslike rendition of "Georgia on My Mind." Inevitably, they charge through a barnburner rendition of "Dry Bones" as well, and they deliver a spectacular version of "Paper Doll" with DeVol. Poor sound quality and embarrassing MCs are a nagging annoyance throughout the album, but it's very enjoyable overall. ~ Rick Anderson

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating:
Based on 2 ratings.
Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!
Get Email Alerts for The Delta Rhythm Boys

Product Info

  • UPC: 617742039122
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-11pm, Weekends: 10am-10pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)