Dean Martin Swingin' Down Yonder [Bonus Tracks]

Swingin' Down Yonder [Bonus Tracks]
1 rating
Price: $14.38
List Price: $15.98
You Save: $1.60 (10% Off)
Currently Out of Stock: We'll get more as soon as possible
Notify Me When Available
Format:  CD
sku:  33DK6
on most orders of $50+
Brand New

CD Details

  • Released:
  • Originally Released: 2006
  • Label: Collector's Choice


  • 1.Carolina Moon
  • 2.Waiting For The Robert E. Lee
  • 3.When It's Sleepy Time Down South
  • 4.Mississippi Mud
  • 5.Alabamy Bound
  • 6.Dinah
  • 7.Carolina In The Morning
  • 8.Way Down Yonder In New Orleans
  • 9.Georgia On My Mind
  • 10.Just A Little Bit South Of North Carolina
  • 11.Basin Street Blues
  • 12.Is It True What They Say About Dixie?
  • 13.I'd Gladly Make The Same Mistake Again
  • 14.Three Wishes
  • 15.Have A Little Sympathy
  • 16.Under The Bridges Of Paris

Product Description:

Additional personnel: The Dixie-Cats.
Producers: Lee Gillette (tracks 1-4, 7-10), Voyle Gilmore (tracks 5, 6, 11, 12).
Compilation producer: Bob Furmanek.
All tracks were recorded between 1950 and 1955. Tracks 1-12 originally released on Capitol (576) on August 1, 1955. Includes original release liner notes.
This is Dean Martin's second LP.
Dean Martin sounds unusually engaged on his first 12" LP to be recorded as such, a concept album of songs relating to the South and recorded in Dixieland style. Always stimulated by good material (when he could get it) that showcased his flair for the lighthearted, Martin essays songs associated with such predecessors as Louis Armstrong, Al Jolson, and Bing Crosby, and he is surprisingly credible in such company, maybe because he knew songs like "When It's Sleepy Time Down South" and "Way Down Yonder in New Orleans" thoroughly and got a kick out of singing them. This is even true of the fruitier material, such as "Mississippi Mud" and "Alabamy Bound," making them almost acceptable, and of songs that have weathered better, such as "Georgia on My Mind." On the whole, this is an excellent thematic collection that is convincingly sung. [Swingin' Down Yonder was reissued on CD in 1991 with eight bonus tracks, all of them from singles recorded and released between 1950 and 1952. They were songs in the same vein, such as "Muskrat Ramble" and "Bye Bye Blackbird," also in Dixieland arrangements, and were equally well performed. The album was reissued again in 2005 -- this time with four bonus tracks -- by Collectors' Choice Music.] ~ William Ruhlmann

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!
Get Email Alerts for Dean Martin

Product Info

  • UPC: 617742059922
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-11pm, Weekends: 10am-10pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)