Dean Martin Sitting On Top of the World / Once In A While

Sitting On Top of the World / Once In A While
5 ratings
Price: $17.08
List Price: $17.98
You Save: $0.90 (5% Off)
Currently Out of Stock: We'll get more as soon as possible
Notify Me When Available
Format:  CD
sku:  33DJS
on most orders of $50+
Brand New

CD Details

  • Released: March 4, 2002
  • Originally Released: 2004
  • Label: Collector's Choice


  • 1.I'm Sitting On Top Of The World
  • 2.I Wonder Who's Kissing Her Now
  • 3.Smile
  • 4.Ramblin' Rose
  • 5.Almost Like Being In Love
  • 6.It's A Good Day
  • 7.At Sundown
  • 8.When The Red Red Robin Comes Bob Bob Bobbin' Along
  • 9.You Made Me Love You (I Didn't Want To Do It)
  • 10.I'm Forever Blowing Bubbles
  • 11.Twilight On The Trail
  • 12.Love Thy Neighbor
  • 13.Without A Word Of Warning
  • 14.That Old Gang Of Mine
  • 15.The Day You Came Along
  • 16.It's Magic
  • 17.If I Had You
  • 18.Only Forever
  • 19.I Cried For You
  • 20.Once In A While

Product Description:

This disc completes Collectors' Choice Music's set of 12 CD two-fer reissues of 24 Dean Martin albums originally released on Reprise Records in the 1960s and 1970s. It contains the singer's antepenultimate Reprise LP, Sittin' on Top of the World, originally released in May 1973, and his final one, Once in a While, originally released in October 1978, though it had been recorded in November 1974. Martin's next-to-last Reprise album, You're the Best Thing That Ever Happened to Me, was passed over appropriately, since it was better paired with 1972's Dino. Both of those albums contained contemporary and country material, while these two are both devoted to traditional pop standards, albeit some of them done in then-contemporary arrangements. ("If I Had You" even has a touch of disco.) The bulk of Martin's Reprise catalog consists of country-pop/ Hollywood versions of the Nashville sound. But here he returns to the kinds of standards he was known for in the 1950s. Some of the songs from Sittin' on Top of the World (tracks one through ten) date back to the early part of the century, and the ones on Once in a While (tracks 11-20) -- nine out of ten of them recorded by Martin's chief influence, Bing Crosby -- are from the '30s and '40s. Martin's familiarity with the material makes these performances even more relaxed and comfortable than most of his interpretations. The singer's recording commitment may have been the least of his concerns by the mid-'70s, but this collection is as enjoyable as any in the series, and it contains more memorable songs than many. ~ William Ruhlmann

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating:
Based on 5 ratings.
Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!
Get Email Alerts for Dean Martin

Product Info

  • UPC: 617742025729
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-11pm, Weekends: 10am-10pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)