Dean Martin Country Style / Dean "Tex" Martin Rides Again

Country Style / Dean "Tex" Martin Rides Again
1 rating
Price: $17.08
List Price: $17.98
You Save: $0.90 (5% Off)
Currently Out of Stock: We'll get more as soon as possible
Notify Me When Available
Format:  CD
sku:  33DH2
on most orders of $50+
Brand New

CD Details

  • Released: November 12, 2001
  • Originally Released: 2004
  • Label: Collector's Choice


  • 1.I'm So Lonesome I Could Cry
  • 2.Face In A Crowd
  • 3.Things
  • 4.Room Full Of Roses
  • 5.I Walk The Line
  • 6.My Heart Cries For You
  • 7.Any Time
  • 8.Shutters And Boards
  • 9.Blue, Blue Day
  • 10.Singing The Blues
  • 11.Hey, Good Lookin'
  • 12.Ain't Gonna Try Anymore
  • 13.I'm Gonna Change Everything
  • 14.Candy Kisses
  • 15.Rockin' Alone (In An Old Rocking Chair)
  • 16.Just A Little Lovin'
  • 17.I Can't Help It (If I'm Still In Love With You)
  • 18.My Sugar's Gone
  • 19.Corrine, Corrina
  • 20.Take Good Care Of Her
  • 21.The Middle Of The Night Is My Cryin' Time
  • 22.From Lover To Loser
  • 23.Bouquet Of Roses
  • 24.Second Hand Rose (Second Hand Heart)

Product Description:

Contains 2 LPs on 1 CD: DEAN "TEX" MARTIN RIDES AGAIN (1963)/COUNTRY STYLE (1963).
This two-fer CD reissue combines two successive Dean Martin albums both released in 1963. It would be hard to imagine Martin's buddy Frank Sinatra doing an album of country-oriented material, but Martin's easygoing style, very much in the tradition of Bing Crosby, who also readily handled Western songs, was much more versatile. The arrangements by Hollywood hands Don Costa and Marty Paich have only elements of the countrypolitan sound to them, and, for the most part, Martin chose to cover material by middle-of-the-road country artists like Eddy Arnold and Jim Reeves, so the material was not that much of a stretch to begin with. Where it was, such as on the version of Johnny Cash's "I Walk the Line," the results were not as satisfying. And Martin's unconcerned interpretations tended to ignore the often lachrymose lyrical sentiments. "I Can't Help It (If I'm Still in Love With You)" and "The Middle of the Night Is My Cryin' Time" are songs about crying in your beer, but the arrangements are chipper, and Martin, despite an image as anything but a teetotaler, never sounded sufficiently bothered by heartache to be hanging out at the honky tonk. This is not really a country music fan's collection, lacking authenticity in its arrangements and its singing, but it is another flying visit to a foreign clime for the Dean Martin aficionado. ~ William Ruhlmann

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!
Get Email Alerts for Dean Martin

Product Info

  • UPC: 617742025125
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-11pm, Weekends: 10am-10pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)