Rod Stewart Storyteller: The Complete Anthology 1964-1990 (4-CD Box Set)

Rating 4.5
32 ratings
Out of Print: Future availability is unknown

Save for Later
Format: CD  (4 Discs)
Item:  WB 25987
Sorry, this product isn't currently available.
Enter your email address, we'll let you know when it's back in stock:

Related products:

CD Details

  • Number of Discs: 4
  • Released: November 7, 1989
  • Label: Warner Bros / WEA

Entertainment Reviews:

Rolling Stone - 1/11/90
3.5 Stars - Very Good - "...a box set with balls ....performs a valuable service by separating the wheat from the chaff in Stewart's wildly erratic oeuvre...Rod Stewart is rock & roll royalty..."
Highly Recommended "...a far reaching compilation....covers the weird, the mediocre, and the wonderful, with the latter being in greatest supply..."

Tracks on Disc 1:

  • 1.Good Morning Little Schoolgirl
  • 2.Can I Get a Witness? (With Steampacket)
  • 3.Shake
  • 4.So Much to Say
  • 5.Little Miss Understood
  • 6.I've Been Drinking (With Jeff Beck Group)
  • 7.I Ain't Superstitious (With Jeff Beck Group)
  • 8.Shapes of Things (With Jeff Beck Group)
  • 9.In a Broken Dream (With Python Lee Jackson)
  • 10.Street Fighting Man
  • 11.Handbags and Gladrags
  • 12.Gasoline Alley
  • 13.Cut Across Shorty
  • 14.Country Comforts
  • 15.It's All Over Now
  • 16.Sweet Lady Mary
  • 17.Had Me a Real Good Time (With Faces)

Tracks on Disc 2:

  • 1.Maggie May
  • 2.Mandolin Wind
  • 3.I'm Losing You (I Know)
  • 4.Reason to Believe
  • 5.Every Picture Tells a Story
  • 6.Stay With Me (With Faces)
  • 7.True Blue
  • 8.Angel
  • 9.You Wear It Well
  • 10.I'd Rather Go Blind
  • 11.Twistin' the Night Away
  • 12.What's Made Milwaukee Famous
  • 13.Oh No, Not My Baby
  • 14.Pinball Wizard
  • 15.Let Me Be Your Car (With Elton John)
  • 16.You Can Make Me Dance, Sing or Anything With Faces)

Tracks on Disc 3:

  • 1.Sailing
  • 2.I Don't Want to Talk About It
  • 3.Stone Cold Sober
  • 4.To Love Somebody
  • 5.Tonight's the Night
  • 6.The First Cut Is Deepest
  • 7.Killing of Georgie, The (Part 1 & 2)
  • 8.Get Back
  • 9.Hot Legs
  • 10.I Was Only Joking
  • 11.You're in My Heart
  • 12.Do Ya Think I'm Sexy
  • 13.Passion
  • 14.Oh God, I Wish I Was Home Tonight
  • 15.Tonight I'm Yours

Tracks on Disc 4:

  • 1.Young Turks
  • 2.Baby Jane
  • 3.What Am I Gonna Do (I'm So in Love With You)
  • 4.People Get Ready
  • 5.Some Guys Have All the Luck
  • 6.Infatuation
  • 7.Love Touch
  • 8.Every Beat of My Heart
  • 9.Lost in You
  • 10.My Heart Can't Tell You No
  • 11.Dynamite
  • 12.Crazy About Her
  • 13.Forever Young
  • 14.I Don't Want to Talk About It - (1989)
  • 15.This Old Heart of Mine
  • 16.Downtown Train

Product Description:

Contains 65 tracks including 3 new songs. It also includes a 24 page book with a running commentary on each track by Rod Stewart plus 8 pages direct from his own scrapbook.
Personnel includes: Rod Stewart (vocals); Brian Auger & The Trinity, Jeff Beck, The Faces, Elton John, Booker T. & The MG's, Ronald Isley.
This appropriately named 4-CD box set follows all the highs and lows of Rod Stewart's career, featuring song-by-song annotations provided by the man himself. Starting back in 1964 with a cover of Sonny Boy Williamson's "Good Morning Little Schoolgirl," Stewart spent most of the '60s looking for a break in the music business. With his raspy voice and emotional delivery, it made perfect sense that some of his earliest songs were soul covers ("Shake," "Can I Get A Witness."). After singing with former Yardbirds guitarist Jeff Beck and sowing the seeds of heavy metal, Stewart fronted the Faces, all the while forging a distinctive sound thanks to his melding of soul, country, blues & rock and roll.
In the late '70s, Stewart's music slowly gravitated towards disco, leading to "Do Ya Think I'm Sexy?," the song many point to as his nadir. For all the gripes, Stewart continued pouring his all into whatever he sang, whether it was a great cover (Tom Waits' "Downtown Train") or a storytelling original ("Young Turks"). STORYTELLER offers all this and a number of previously unreleased songs that include a session featuring Stewart fronting Booker T. & The MG s right before drummer Al Jackson's tragic death ("To Love Somebody").
RadioIO Offer

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating: Rating 4.5
Based on 32 ratings.
Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!
Email Icon
Get Email Alerts for Rod Stewart

Product Info:

  • UPC: 075992598729
  • Shipping Weight: 1.86/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 4 items