Bobby Short Bobby Short

Bobby Short
1 rating
Price: $14.38
Currently Out of Stock: We'll get more as soon as possible
Notify Me When Available
Format:  CD
sku:  JXHE
on most orders of $50+
Brand New

Related products:

CD Details

  • Released: November 12, 2001
  • Originally Released: 2004
  • Label: Collector's Choice


  • 1.At The Moving Picture Ball
  • 2.The Most Beautiful Girl In The World
  • 3.Bye Bye Blackbird
  • 4.I've Got Five Dollars
  • 5.I've Got The World On A String
  • 6.Is It Always Like This
  • 7.Sand In My Shoes
  • 8.Carioca
  • 9.Down With Love
  • 10.Hottentot Potentate
  • 11.Any Place I Hang My Hat Is Home
  • 12.Bedelia
  • 13.Fun To Be Fooled

Product Description:

Personnel includes: Bobby Short (vocals, piano); Buddy Woodson (bass).
Includes liner notes by Will Friedwald.
All tracks have been digitally remastered.
Personnel: Bobby Short (vocals, piano); Pete Candoli (trumpet).
Liner Note Authors: George Frazier; Will Friedwald.
Recording information: 09/15/1956-11/29/1956.
Bobby Short's second recording for Atlantic offered a range of great material, accompanied on the up-tempo numbers by a small, dynamic quartet and, for the ballads, just his own piano (as on the highlight "The Most Beautiful Girl in the World"). Short drew on his two decades in vaudeville, pulling out all the stops for bravura versions of "I've Got the World on a String," "Down With Love," and "At the Moving Picture Ball." "Carioca" becomes a piece of exotica in his hands, and he growls and over-sings hilariously on "Hottentot Potentate." Yes, there are subtleties to Short's vocal attack, but there's also a dynamism that is often better served on a Broadway stage than in a recording studio. Bobby Short entertained with song better than anyone else, and his interpretations of the standards are striking and very enjoyable. [The 2001 reissue by Collectors' Choice is a solid mastering of the original; not a crystal-clear digital remaster, but solid enough for the material.] ~ John Bush

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!
Get Email Alerts for Bobby Short

Product Info

  • UPC: 617742023725
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-11pm, Weekends: 10am-10pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)