Big Bill Broonzy Complete Recorded Works, Volume 9 (1939 [Import]

Complete Recorded Works, Volume 9 (1939 [Import]
Price: $17.99
List Price: $19.99
You Save: $2 (10% Off)
Currently Out of Stock: We'll get more as soon as possible
Notify Me When Available
Format:  CD
sku:  HHG2
on most orders of $50+
Brand New

CD Details

  • Released: October 1, 1992
  • Originally Released: 2000
  • Label: Document


  • 1.Just Wondering
  • 2.Keep On A-Smilin'
  • 3.She Never
  • 4.Woodie Woodie
  • 5.Too Many Drivers
  • 6.You Can't Win
  • 7.Ride, Alberta, Ride
  • 8.That's All Right Baby
  • 9.Please Be My So And So
  • 10.I.C. Blues
  • 11.Cotton Choppin' Blues
  • 12.Hot Dog Mama
  • 13.Dreamy Eyed Baby
  • 14.My Last Goodbye To You
  • 15.Don't You Want To Ride
  • 16.Don't YOu Be No Fool
  • 17.Just A Dream No. 2
  • 18.Tell Me What I Done
  • 19.Oh Yes
  • 20.I'm Still Your Sweetheart, Baby
  • 21.Down And Lost In Mind
  • 22.Let's Have A Little Fun
  • 23.Messed Up In Love

Product Description:

Contains 23 tracks.
Personnel: Big Bill Broonzy (vocals, guitar, accordion); Odell Rand (clarinet, alto saxophone); Joshua Altheimer (piano); Fred Williams (drums).
Liner Note Author: Keith Briggs.
Recording information: 05/11/1939-12/08/1939.
During the latter half of 1939, blues guitarist/singer Big Bill Broonzy was near the height of his fame and was recording quite prolifically. For the ninth of 11 Document CDs in the comprehensive Broonzy series, he is joined throughout by pianist Joshua Altheimer and either bassist Ransom Knowling (the first nine numbers) or drummer Fred Williams. The erratic clarinetist Odell Rand (who also plays some alto sax) is on the first session and does not help things much, but Broonzy is so strong that it really does not matter. Among the more notable numbers are "She Never," "Too Many Drivers," "That's All Right Baby" and "Dreamy Eyed Baby," while "Just a Dream No. 2" is a remake/continuation of his hit from earlier in the year. ~ Scott Yanow

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!
Get Email Alerts for Big Bill Broonzy

Product Info

  • UPC: 714298513127
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-10pm, Weekends: 10am-9pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)