Slave The Definitive Groove Collection (2-CD)

The Definitive Groove Collection (2-CD)
11 ratings
Price: $20.68
List Price: $22.98
You Save: $2.30 (10% Off)
Temporarily Out of Stock: We'll get more as soon as possible
Notify Me When Available
Format:  CD  (2 Discs)
sku:  3275W
on most orders of $50+
Brand New

CD Details

  • Number of Discs: 2
  • Released:
  • Originally Released: 2006
  • Label: Atlantic

Tracks on Disc 1:

  • 1.Slide
  • 2.The Party Song
  • 3.Baby Sinister
  • 4.Stellar Fungk
  • 5.Just A Touch Of Love
  • 6.Are You Ready For Love?
  • 7.Foxy Lady (Funky Lady)
  • 8.Thank You
  • 9.Everybody Slide
  • 10.Sizzlin' Hot
  • 11.Watching You
  • 12.Stone Jam
  • 13.Starting Over
  • 14.Son Of Slide
  • 15.Just A Touch Of Love (Jazzy Instrumental Version)

Tracks on Disc 2:

Product Description:

Personnel: Danny Webster (vocals, guitar, percussion, background vocals); Curt Jones (vocals, guitar, background vocals); Charles Carter (vocals, flute, saxophone, keyboards); Floyd Miller (vocals, trumpet, trombone, percussion, background vocals); Steve Arrington (vocals, keyboards, drums, percussion, background vocals); Sam Carter (vocals, keyboards, percussion); Marvin Wheatley (vocals, keyboards); Tim Dozier (vocals, drums, percussion); Starleana Young (vocals, background vocals); Mark Hicks (guitar, background vocals); Kevin Johnson , Arthur Rhames, Kevin Eubanks (guitar); Bruce Victor Godsey (flute, keyboards, background vocals); Tom Lockett (alto saxophone, tenor saxophone, background vocals); Orion Wilhoite (alto saxophone, tenor saxophone); Freddie Hubbard (trumpet); Anthony "Ziggy" Johnson, Mark Antone Adams , Carter Bradley, Ray Turner, William F. Zimmerman, Joey Gallo, Carlos MurguĀ”a (keyboards); Roger Parker (drums, percussion, background vocals); Gary Jackson (percussion, background vocals); Paulinho Da Costa (percussion); Dani Johnson, India Arrington, Jimmy Douglass, Pattie Brooks, Marti McCall, Buddy Hankerson (background vocals).
Audio Remasterers: Dave Schultz; Daniel Hersch; Bill Inglot.
Liner Note Authors: Charles Norbeck; Hua Hsu.
Photographer: Glenn A. Baker.
The Definitive Groove Collection amounts, roughly, to a combination of two older Rhino compilations: 1994's Stellar Fungk: The Best of Slave and 2003's Party Lights: More of the Best. With a couple minor exceptions, it contains all of Slave's charting singles (such as "Slide," "Just a Touch of Love," and "Watching You") as well as several spectacular tracks that never hit the charts ("Party Lites," "Steal Your Heart," and "I'll Be Gone," just to name a handful). As with its predecessors, this two-disc set also contains some -- but not all -- of the notable material released by Steve Arrington and his Hall of Fame ("Feel So Real," "Dancin' in the Key of Life," "Way Out"). Covering all the bases with Slave and its various spinoffs (Steve Arrington's Hall of Fame, Aurra, Young & Company, Starleana) within two discs would be impossible, but this is the most comprehensive and helpfully annotated Slave anthology released to date. ~ Andy Kellman

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating: Rating 4.3
Based on 11 ratings.
Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!
Get Email Alerts for Slave

Product Info

  • UPC: 081227408527
  • Shipping Weight: 0.28/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 2 items

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-11pm, Weekends: 10am-10pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)