Average White Band Definitive Groove (2-CD)

Definitive Groove (2-CD)
2 ratings
Price: $18.89
List Price: $20.99
You Save: $2.10 (10% Off)
Currently Out of Stock: We'll get more as soon as possible
Notify Me When Available
Format:  CD  (2 Discs)
sku:  3275C
on most orders of $50+
Brand New

CD Details

  • Number of Discs: 2
  • Released: August 8, 2006
  • Originally Released: 2006
  • Label: Atlantic

Tracks on Disc 1:

  • 1.Pick Up The Pieces
  • 2.You Got It
  • 3.Got The Love
  • 4.Person To Person
  • 5.Work To Do
  • 6.Nothing You Can Do
  • 7.I Just Can't Give You Up
  • 8.There's Always Someone Waiting
  • 9.Cut The Cake
  • 10.If I Ever Lose This Heaven
  • 11.School Boy Crush
  • 12.Groovin' The Night Away
  • 13.Queen Of My Soul
  • 14.Cloudy
  • 15.Goin' Home

Tracks on Disc 2:

  • 1.I'm The One
  • 2.A Love Of Your Own
  • 3.Soul Searching
  • 4.Love Your Life (Live)
  • 5.Get It Up (with Ben E. King)
  • 6.A Star In The Ghetto (with Ben E. King)
  • 7.The Message (with Ben E. King)
  • 8.Your Love Is A Miracle
  • 9.Big City Lights
  • 10.Sweet & Sour
  • 11.Walk On By
  • 12.When Will You Be Mine
  • 13.Atlantic Avenue
  • 14.Let's Go 'Round Again
  • 15.For You, For Love

Product Description:

The Average White Band: Hamish Stuart , Alan Gorrie (vocals, guitar, bass guitar); Onnie McIntyre (guitar, background vocals); Malcolm Duncan (flute, saxophone); Roger Ball (saxophone, keyboards, synthesizer); Robbie McIntosh , Steve Ferrone (drums, percussion).
Additional personnel: Ben E. King (vocals).
The Average White Band installment in Rhino's DEFINITIVE GROOVE series demonstrates the same care in song selection, sound, and packaging that make the discs the last word in 1970s funk compilations. With 30 tracks spread across two discs, the set features all the band's major hits, including seminal funk staples like "Cut the Cake" and "Pick Up the Pieces."
The set also ranges into the group's material from the '80s, an era that found the Average White Band exploring a slicker, more disco-inflected sound. While this work isn't quite on par with the fierce, sweaty workouts from the band's prime, it gives a complete picture of the Scottish ensemble's artistic trajectory (another valuable asset of the DEFINITIVE GROOVE series). Nevertheless, listeners seeking a round-up of AWB's still-fresh, compelling essentials will find them here.

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating:
Based on 2 ratings.
Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!

Similar Products

Music Categories:
Get Email Alerts for Average White Band

Product Info

  • Sales Rank: 63,928
  • UPC: 081227407728
  • Shipping Weight: 0.28/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 2 items

Top ranking titles in the R&B / Soul genre:

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-10pm, Weekends: 10am-9pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)