Lloyd Price Specialty Profiles (With Bonus CD)

Specialty Profiles (With Bonus CD)
1 rating
Price: $17.08
List Price: $18.98
You Save: $1.90 (10% Off)
Currently Out of Stock: We'll get more as soon as possible
Notify Me When Available
Format:  CD  (2 Discs)
sku:  3272C
on most orders of $50+
Brand New

Related products:

CD Details

  • Fantasy Warehouse Clearance Sale product may be specifically marked for one-way sale
  • Number of Discs: 2
  • Released:
  • Originally Released: 2006
  • Label: Specialty

Tracks on Disc 1:

  • Buy for $0.991.Lawdy Miss Clawdy
  • Buy for $0.992.Tell Me Pretty Baby
  • Buy for $0.993.Ain't It A Shame?
  • Buy for $0.994.Oooh-Oooh-Oooh
  • Buy for $0.995.Where You At?
  • Buy for $0.996.Oo-Ee-Baby
  • Buy for $0.997.Restless Heart
  • Buy for $0.998.Mailman Blues
  • Buy for $0.999.Tryin' To Find Someone To Love
  • Buy for $0.9910.Let Me Come Home Baby
  • Buy for $0.9911.If Crying Was Murder
  • Buy for $0.9912.What's The Matter Now?
  • Buy for $0.9913.Lord, Lord Amen!
  • Buy for $0.9914.Rock 'N' Roll Dance

Tracks on Disc 2:

Product Description:

Personnel: Lloyd Price (vocals); Larry Price (vocals); Carl Thomas (saxophone); Lawrence E. Marioneaux, Jr. (tenor saxophone); Wallace Davenport (trumpet); Edward Frank, Huey "Piano" Smith & the Clowns (piano); Earl Palmer (drums, drum); Charles "Honeyman" Otis (drums); Ernest McLean (guitar); Joseph Harris (alto saxophone); Herb Hardesty (tenor saxophone); Dave Bartholomew (trumpet); Fats Domino (piano).
Audio Remasterer: Joe Tarantino.
Liner Note Author: Colin Escott.
Recording information: J&M Music Shop, New Orleans, LA (03/13/1952-06/29/1956); Universal Recorders, Hollywood, CA (03/13/1952-06/29/1956).
This selection of the Louisiana rock & roll pioneer Lloyd Price's recordings for the Specialty label contains his first number one R&B hit, 1952's "Lawdy Miss Clawdy," as well as subsequent classics, like the syncopated "Tell Me Pretty Baby," and the rolling, bluesy "Ain't It a Shame?," recorded before he entered the army in 1954. Price's high, pleading tenor was ideally suited for the pop market, as shown by his later success with songs like a reworking of the ancient "Stagger Lee" and the peppy "Personality," but on these early tracks he displays the irresistible, unpolished charm of his New Orleans origins. This package also includes a CD sampler of other releases in this series.

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!
Get Email Alerts for Lloyd Price

Product Info

  • UPC: 888072300552
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 2 items

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-11pm, Weekends: 10am-10pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)