Gong History & The Mystery of Gong (2-CD)

History & The Mystery of Gong (2-CD)
2 ratings
Price: $17.08
List Price: $18.98
You Save: $1.90 (10% Off)
Currently Out of Stock: We'll get more as soon as possible
Notify Me When Available
Format:  CD  (2 Discs)
sku:  E638
on most orders of $50+
Brand New

CD Details

  • Number of Discs: 2
  • Released: March 27, 2001
  • Originally Released: 2001
  • Label: NMC Music

Tracks on Disc 1:

  • 1.Intro (from Christmas Party 1973)
  • 2.Captain Shaw And Mr. Gilbert (Recorded by Daevid in 1964)
  • 3.Love Makes Sweet Music (Daevid Allen & Soft Machine Radio Broadcast 1968)
  • 4.Riot 1969 (with Soft Machine in France plus DLT Interview)
  • 5.Dreaming It (Earliest Live Recording of Gong 1969)
  • 6.I Feel So Lazy (Live in Los Angeles 1972)
  • 7.And I Tried So Hard (Live in Los Angeles 1972)
  • 8.Radio Gnome Pre-Mix (Studio Outtake 1973)
  • 9.Pot Head Pixies (Live 1973)
  • 10.Clarence In Wonderland (Radio Session with Kevin Ayers)
  • 11.Where Have All The Flowers Gone (Recorded in Deva, Spain 1976)
  • 12.Gong Poem (Recorded with Clive Williamson 1976)
  • 13.Deya Goddess (Recorded in Deva, Spain 1976)
  • 14.Opium For The People (Studio Version Sung in French)
  • 15.Red Alert (Recorded in Wales 1980 with Mother Gong)
  • 16.13-8 (Studio Session 1981)
  • 17.Gliss U-Well (Studio Session 1981 with Didier from the Tape "Words Fail Me")
  • 18.Future (Taken from Australian Tape-Only Release "Living On The Brink")
  • 19.The Dream (Australia 1985)
  • 20.Chernobyl Rain (Kansas Mix Invisible Opera Co.)
  • 21.Let Me Be The One (Recorded Live in Glastonbury 1988)

Tracks on Disc 2:

  • 1.I Am A Tree
  • 2.Lament For The Future Of The Forest
  • 3.Hands
  • 4.Unseen Ally
  • 5.La Dea Madri
  • 6.The Owly Song
  • 7.I Am My Own Lover
  • 8.Tudor Love Poem

Product Description:

THE HISTORY & THE MYSTERY contains various rare studio, radio and live tracks performed by Gong and/or it's individual members, recorded between 1964 and 1988. Also includes a history of Gong written in 1989 by Babs Kirk.
Gong includes: Daevid Allen, Gilli Smyth.
Additional personnel includes: Soft Machine, Kevin Ayers.
Live and in-studio space-jams, outtakes, demos, basement tapes, and vibrant spoken-word poetry--from random points of Gong's career up to 1989--share real estate on this eclectic, challenging, and beefy 22-track collection. Members of Soft Machine put in appearances, but the record belongs to the sprawling, amorphous, and ever-changing permutations of Daevid Allen's Gong.

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating:
Based on 2 ratings.
Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!
Get Email Alerts for Gong

Product Info

  • UPC: 800945006729
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 2 items

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-11pm, Weekends: 10am-10pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)