The Complete 1957 Riverside Recordings (2-CD)

The Complete 1957 Riverside Recordings (2-CD)
10 ratings
Out of Print: Future availability is unknown
Notify Me When Available
Format:  CD  (2 Discs)
sku:  326WG
on most orders of $50+
Brand New

CD Details

  • Number of Discs: 2
  • Released:
  • Originally Released: 2006
  • Label: Riverside

Entertainment Reviews:

Entertainment Weekly - p.79
"[Coltrane's] style is a perfect complement to the jagged beauty of Monk's music." -- Grade: A
JazzTimes - p.81
"The 1957 meetings of Thelonious Monk and John Coltrane produced some of bop's most thrilling music."

Tracks on Disc 1:

  • Buy for $0.991.Monk's Mood (False Start)
  • 2.Monk's Mood
  • Buy for $0.993.Crepuscle With Nellie (Take 1)
  • Buy for $0.994.Crepuscle With Nellie (Take 2) (Previously Unissued)
  • Buy for $0.995.Crepuscle With Nellie (Breakdown)
  • 6.Blues For Tomorrow (1st Stereo Release)
  • Buy for $0.997.Crepuscle With Nellie (Edited: Retakes 4 & 5)
  • Buy for $0.998.Crepuscle With Nellie (Retakes 6)
  • Buy for $1.299.Off Minor (Take 4)
  • Buy for $1.2910.Off Minor (Take 5)

Tracks on Disc 2:

  • Buy for $0.991.Abide With Me (Take 1) (Previously Unissued)
  • Buy for $1.292.Abide With Me
  • Buy for $1.293.Epistrophy (Short Version)
  • 4.Epistrophy
  • Buy for $0.995.Well, You Needn't (Opening)
  • 6.Well, You Needn't (
  • Buy for $1.297.Ruby, My Dear (with Coleman Hawkins)
  • Buy for $1.298.Ruby, My Dear (with John Coltrane)
  • Buy for $1.299.Nutty
  • Buy for $1.2910.Trinkle, Tinkle

Product Description:

Personnel: Thelonious Monk (piano); Thelonious Monk; Ray Copeland (trumpet); Wilbur Ware (upright bass); Gigi Gryce (alto saxophone); Coleman Hawkins, John Coltrane (tenor saxophone); Art Blakey, Shadow Wilson (drums).
Audio Remasterer: Joe Tarantino.
Liner Note Author: Orrin Keepnews.
Recording information: Reeves, Sound Studios, New York, NY.
Photographers: Esmond Edwards; Bob Parent.
Arranger: Thelonious Monk.
This fine two-disc set brings together all the recordings Thelonious Monk made for the small, influential Riverside label in 1957. The piano eccentric cut excellent versions of some of his best compositions during that year, including "Off Minor," "Epistrophy," "Well, You Needn't," and the lovely "Ruby My Dear." The exhilarating saxophone work of John Coltrane makes these dates instant classics. Like most "complete sessions," the set features plenty of false starts and alternate takes that might seem extraneous to the casual fan, but Monk fanatics will be overjoyed at being provided with a glimpse into the brilliant artist's studio process.

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating: Rating 3.8
Based on 10 ratings.
Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!
Get Email Alerts for Thelonious Monk

Product Info

  • UPC: 888072300279
  • Shipping Weight: 0.28/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 2 items

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-11pm, Weekends: 10am-10pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)