Mott The Hoople All The Young Dudes (Bonus Tracks)

Rating 4.5
21 ratings
Out of Print: Future availability is unknown
Item:  SNY 93809
Sorry, this product isn't currently available.
Enter your email address, we'll let you know when it's back in stock:

Related products:

CD Details

  • Released:
  • Originally Released: 2006
  • Label: Sony

Entertainment Reviews:

Rolling Stone - p.70
3.5 stars out of 5 -- "[T]he heavy riffs and hand claps of 'Sucker' and guitarist Mick Ralphs' stadium-ready sludge fest 'Ready for Love/After Lights' gave that Bowie-produced album its vital variety."
Rolling Stone - 12/7/72, p.63
" extravagant amount of power-driven, rock & roll....they're bound to make it on the strength of this record..."
Uncut - p.114
5 stars out of 5 -- "[Bowie's] studio craft sheered up their sound, highlighting Ian Hunter's more focused material..."
Mojo (Publisher) - p.125
4 stars out of 5 -- "'Momma's Little Jewel' and a cover of 'Sweet Jane' reveal staying power."


  • Buy for $0.991.Sweet Jane
  • Buy for $0.992.Momma's Little Jewel
  • Buy for $1.293.All The Young Dudes
  • Buy for $0.994.Sucker
  • Buy for $0.995.Jerkin' Crocus
  • Buy for $0.996.One Of The Boys
  • Buy for $0.997.Soft Ground
  • 8.Ready For Love / Afterlights
  • Buy for $0.999.Sea Diver
  • Buy for $0.9910.One Of The Boys (Bonus Track: Demo Version)
  • Buy for $0.9911.Black Scorpio (Bonus Track: Demo Version)
  • Buy for $0.9912.Ride On The Sun (Bonus Track: Demo Version)
  • Buy for $0.9913.One Of The Boys (UK Single Version)
  • Buy for $1.2914.All The Young Dudes (with David Bowie & Ian Hunter Vocals)
  • Buy for $0.9915.Sucker
  • Buy for $0.9916.Sweet Jane

Product Description:

Includes bonus tracks.
In 1973, the members of Mott the Hoople were tired. Island Records had dropped the band after three albums, as sales were low and audience interest was almost non-existent. But the band had a famous fan in David Bowie, who offered to write them one single to give them a leg up. That single was the chart-topping "All the Young Dudes," a glitter-era wink-wink celebration of male bonding that name-checked chart-toppers T. Rex and repositioned the once-laddish band as glammy, androgynous scenesters. Obviously, an album was called for.
Produced by Bowie and opening with a smoking cover of "Sweet Jane" that played a major role in raising public awareness of the Velvet Underground, ALL THE YOUNG DUDES is a brassy, loud, obnoxious--in the best possible sense--rock & roll album. "Sucker" and "One of the Boys" recall the hit, while "Jerkin' Crocus" and "Sea Diver" are as odd as the band's earlier material. An amazing mid-career transformation.
RadioIO Offer

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating: Rating 4.5
Based on 21 ratings.
Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!
Email Icon
Get Email Alerts for Mott The Hoople

Product Info:

  • UPC: 827969380925
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item