McCoy Tyner Milestone Profiles

Milestone Profiles
LOW STOCK: Only 3 copies left
SALE: $7.98
List Price: $11.98
You Save: $4 (33% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 1-3 business days
Format:  CD  (2 Discs)
sku:  FAN 30022
Brand New

Related products:

CD Details

  • Fantasy Warehouse Clearance Sale product may be specifically marked for one-way sale
  • Number of Discs: 2
  • Released:
  • Originally Released: 2006
  • Label: Milestone

Tracks on Disc 1:

  • 1.The Greeting
  • 2.One Of Another Kind
  • Buy for $0.993.Naima
  • 4.Ebony Queen
  • 5.Sama Layuca
  • 6.Enlightenment Suite Pt. 1: Genesis
  • 7.Search For Peace
  • 8.Song Of The New World
  • Buy for $1.299.Impressions

Tracks on Disc 2:

Product Description:

Includes bonus sampler.
1. The Kicker - Joe Henderson
2. Song For My Lady - McCoy Tyner
3. Dindi - Flora Purim
4. St. Thomas - Ron Carter Duo/Jim Hall
5. I'm Old Fashioned - Sonny Rollins
6. One Mint Julep - Jimmy McGriff & Hank Crawford Quartet
7. No Doubt About It - Jimmy Smith
8. I Thought About You - Jimmy Scott
Personnel: McCoy Tyner (piano); Stanley Clarke (acoustic bass); Elvin Jones, Alphonse Mouzon (drums); Airto (percussion).
McCoy Tyner's association with Milestone was extremely beneficial to his career, as he recorded 19 albums as a leader for the label, in addition to the Milestone "All Stars" quartet with Sonny Rollins during his eight-year tenure with the label. Condensing such a prolific output onto a single disc to profile his work for Milestone involved some tough choices for the compilation's producer, but the nine tracks chosen represent a good cross-section. The pianist is heard in a solo setting (a moving take of "Naima"), a trio with Ron Carter and Elvin Jones (a thunderous "Impressions"), along with quartets and larger ensembles. It's easy to nitpick about a favorite track being omitted (how can his intense solo concert performance of "Passion Dance" not be a part of this compilation?), but the idea behind this release is to get serious jazz fans to investigate all of McCoy Tyner's Milestone recordings, which were pretty much in print at the time this compilation appeared in 2006. The bonus disc consists of selections by other Milestone artists and Tyner is not a part of any of these tracks. ~ Ken Dryden

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!

Similar Products

Music Categories:
Get Email Alerts for McCoy Tyner

Product Info

  • Sales Rank: 70,664
  • UPC: 888072300224
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 2 items

Top ranking titles in the Jazz genre:

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-11pm, Weekends: 10am-10pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)