Herbie Hancock The Essential (2-CD)

The Essential (2-CD)
12 ratings
Only 4 copies left
Price: $13.57
List Price: $13.94
You Save: $0.37 (3% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 1-3 business days
Format:  CD  (2 Discs)
sku:  327DS
Brand New

CD Details

  • Number of Discs: 2
  • Released:
  • Originally Released: 2006
  • Label: Sony

Entertainment Reviews:

Rolling Stone - 9/2/71, p.44
"...ranges from the street-strutting funk of the early 'Watermelon Man' through statements succesfully more challenging and complex..."
JazzTimes - p.65
"[Hancock is] a musician with passion, an open mind and an awareness of history that constantly propels him forward into new sonic territory."

Tracks on Disc 1:

  • 1.Watermelon Man
  • Buy for $0.992.Round Midnight (with Sonny Rollins)
  • 3.Cataloupe Island
  • 4.Maiden Voyage
  • Buy for $0.995.Circle (with The Miles Davis Quintet)
  • 6.The Sorcerer
  • 7.Tell Me A Bedtime Story
  • 8.Hidden Shadows
  • 9.Chameleon
  • Buy for $0.9910.Joanna's Theme

Tracks on Disc 2:

  • 1.Butterfly
  • Buy for $0.992.People Music
  • Buy for $0.993.Milestones
  • Buy for $0.994.4 AM
  • Buy for $0.995.Come Running To Me
  • Buy for $0.996.Goodbye Porkpie Hat (with Joni Mitchell) (Unissued: 1978)
  • Buy for $0.997.Finger Painting
  • Buy for $0.998.Stars In Your Eyes
  • 9.Rockit
  • 10.St. Louis Blues
  • 11.Manhattan

Product Description:

Personnel: Herbie Hancock (vocals, piano, keyboards, synthesizer, vocoder, programming); Stevie Wonder (vocals, harmonica); Wayne Shorter, Bennie Maupin (tenor saxophone); Eddie Henderson, Freddie Hubbard, Miles Davis (trumpet); Julian Priester (trombone); Alphonse Mouzon (keyboards, drums); Ron Carter (upright bass); Jaco Pastorius, Paul Jackson , Bill Laswell (bass guitar); Harvey Mason, Sr. , Terri Lyne Carrington, Tony Williams (drums); Bill Summers (percussion).
Liner Note Author: Bob Belden.
A bold jazz innovator whose stylistic range is rivaled only by his mentor, Miles Davis, keyboardist/composer/bandleader Herbie Hancock receives Columbia/Legacy's ESSENTIAL treatment on this excellent 2006 two-disc set. Although whittling the finest moments of Hancock's strikingly eclectic, decades-spanning career down to a mere 20 tracks is an exercise in futility, the collection reveals admirable results within those constraints, offering up tunes from 1962 to 2000. Among the many brilliant moments on this comp are Hancock's swinging hard-bop classics "Watermelon Man" and "Cantaloupe Island" (both featuring ace trumpeter Freddie Hubbard), the fiercely funky "Chameleon," and the groundbreaking electro-pop hit "Rockit." Although many of Hancock's individual albums are essential in their own right, and the four-disc HERBIE HANCOCK BOX delves deeper into his daunting catalogue, this compilation is the perfect introduction to the stunning stylistic and technical breadth of the pioneering artist's output.

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating:
Based on 12 ratings.
Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!

Similar Products

Music Categories:
Get Email Alerts for Herbie Hancock

Product Info

  • Sales Rank: 109,683
  • UPC: 827969459324
  • Shipping Weight: 0.26/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 2 items

Top ranking CD:

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-10pm, Weekends: 10am-9pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)