When Gospel Was Gospel

by Various Artists
McAfee Secure sites help keep you safe from identity theft, credit/debit card fraud, spyware, spam, viruses and online scams
Rating 4.8
8 ratings
Only 6 copies left
List Price: $17.98
Your Price: $16.18
You Save: $1.80 (10% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 1-3 business days
Item:  SHA 6064

CD Details

  • Released: May 24, 2005
  • Label: Shanachie


  • 1.Beams of Heaven - Marie Knight / Sister Rosetta Tharpe
  • 2.Little Boy, How Old Are You - Sister Rosetta Tharpe / Dependable Boys
  • 3.Lord Will Make a Way, The - The Soul Stirrers
  • 4.His Eye Is on the Sparrow - The Soul Stirrers
  • 5.Yield Not to Temptation - The Roberta Martin Singers
  • 6.Old Ship of Zion, The - The Roberta Martin Singers
  • 7.Look for Me in Heaven - Professor J. Earle Hines / J. Earle Hines
  • 8.Power of the Holy Ghost - Mahalia Jackson
  • 9.Mahalia Moans - Mahalia Jackson
  • 10.Mercy Lord - Brother Joe May (previously unreleased, live)
  • 11.Jesus - Robert Anderson
  • 12.A Queen C. Anderson Special: I Never Heard of a City / These Are They ...
  • 13.Standing on the Highway - Angelic Gospel Singers / The Dixie Hummingbirds
  • 14.Leave It There - Clara Ward / Ward Singers
  • 15.Time Is Winding Up - Clara Ward / Ward Singers
  • 16.Here Am I Send Me - Spirit of Memphis Quartet
  • 17.Jesus Steps Right In - The Davis Sisters
  • 18.Too Close to Heaven - The Davis Sisters
  • 19.Thank You Jesus / I Have a Friend - The Swan Silvertones (previously unreleased, live)
  • 20.You Better Run - Dorothy Love Coates / The Original Gospel Harmonettes / Dorothy Love Coates & The Original Gospel Harmonettes (previously unreleased)
  • 21.Dot's Testimony - Dorothy Love Coates / The Original Gospel Harmonettes / Dorothy Love Coates & The Original Gospel Harmonettes (previously unreleased)
  • 22.Amazing Grace - J. Robert Bradley (previously unreleased, live)
  • 23.Walk Through the Valley - Madame Edna Gallmon Cooke / The Radio Four
  • 24.Sinner Man - The Sensational Nightingales
  • 25.How About You - The Sensational Nightingales
  • 26.Traveling Shoes - Marion Williams
  • 27.Leak in the Building - Prof. Alex Bradford / The Bradford Singers (previously unreleased, live)
  • 28.You're Gonna Need Him - Brother Joe May / Jacqui Verdell (previously unreleased, live)

Product Description:

Performers include: Mahalia Jackson, Marion Williams, Sister Rosetta Tharpe, Queen C. Anderson, Clara Ward, The Soul Stirrers, Dixie Hummingbirds and Swan Silverstones.
Personnel: Sister Rosetta Tharpe (vocals, guitar); Madame Edna Gallmon Cooke, Marie Knight (vocals); Roberta Martin (alto, piano); Beachy Thompson, Kenneth Washington, Paul Owens, Ernest James, Norsalus McKissick, Robert Reed, S.R. Crain (tenor); Samuel Patterson (guitar); Clara Ward, William Neal, Marge Cheeks, Edward David Robinson, Gwendolyn Cooper, Curtis Dublin, Margaret Allison, Mildred Falls, Sammy Price, Thomas Shelby (piano); Doc Bagby, Robert Wootzen, Joe Washington (organ); Wallace Bishop (drums).
Liner Note Author: Anthony Heilbut.
Recording information: 1946-1963.

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating: Rating 4.8
Based on 8 ratings.
Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!

Similar Products:

Music Categories:

Product Info:

  • Sales Rank: 101,508
  • UPC: 016351606426
  • Shipping Weight: 0.22/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item