Shirley Caesar After 40 Years: Still Sweeping Through the City (Live)

McAfee Secure sites help keep you safe from identity theft, credit/debit card fraud, spyware, spam, viruses and online scams
Rating 5.0
7 ratings
List Price: $11.98
Your Price: $10.78
You Save: $1.20 (10% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 1-3 business days
Item:  LIGT 6930

CD Details

  • Released: November 6, 2007
  • Label: Light Records

Entertainment Reviews:

Down Beat - p.83
3.5 stars out of 5 -- "[W]ith sanctified repertory favorites like 'Old Apple Tree' and 'Faded Rose.'"


  • 1.Sweeping Through the City
  • 2.Jesus, I Love Calling Your Name
  • 3.Hold My Mule
  • 4.Peace in the Midst of the Storm
  • 5.Peter, Don't Be Afraid / Nobody But You Lord / Teach Me Master
  • 6.Never
  • 7.Choose Ye This Day
  • 8.Praise Your Way Through
  • 9.Faded Rose
  • 10.He'll Do It Again
  • 11.He's Got It All in Control
  • 12.The Gold Apple Tree

Product Description:

Personnel: Gene Conyers, Bernard Sterling, Lisa Butts, Donald Gore (vocals); Criss Johnson (guitar); Sam Levine (alto saxophone, tenor saxophone, baritone saxophone); Steve Patrick (trumpet); Barry Green (trombone); Derrick Lee (piano); Michael E. Mathis (organ); Tyrone Dickerson (synthesizer); Bret Teegarden, Simeon Baker (bass guitar); David Riddick, Terry Baker (drums); Bubba Smith (percussion); Mt. Cavalry Word Of Faith Choir And Angelic Voice Of Abundant Life, Caesar Singers.
Released to commemorate the 40th anniversary of Shirley Caesar's solo career, which she began after her apprenticeship in the long-running vocal group the Caravans, AFTER 40 YEARS: STILL SWEEPING THROUGH THE CITY proves that Caesar has lost none of her vaunted vocal power. A strong, sanctified blend of classic gospel and more contemporary sounds, the album remains relevant based on Caesar's beautiful, clear voice and commitment to her gospel roots. Highlights include the title track and the defiant "Never."

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating: Rating 5.0
Based on 7 ratings.
Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!

Similar Products:

Music Categories:
Email Icon
Get Email Alerts for Shirley Caesar

Product Info:

  • Sales Rank: 99,926
  • UPC: 015095693020
  • Shipping Weight: 0.21/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item