Rufus Thomas Stax Profiles

Stax Profiles
2 ratings
Only 4 copies left
SUPER SAVINGS: $10.56 Limited Time Only
List Price: $11.98
You Save: $1.42 (12% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 1-3 business days
sku:  327W4
Brand New

Related products:

CD Details

  • Clearance CDs with the ZHUS prefix may be specifically marked for one-way sale
  • Released:
  • Originally Released: 2006
  • Label: Stax


  • Buy for $0.991.Walking The Dog
  • Buy for $0.992.Ride Your Pony
  • Buy for $0.993.Jump Back
  • Buy for $0.994.Strolling Beale No. 1
  • Buy for $1.295.Do The Funky Chicken
  • Buy for $0.996.Funky Hot Grits
  • Buy for $0.997.Memphis Train '75
  • Buy for $0.998.Bear Cat
  • Buy for $0.999.Funky Robot
  • Buy for $0.9910.Sixty Minute Man
  • Buy for $1.2911.Do The Double Bump
  • Buy for $1.2912.The Breakdown

Product Description:

Personnel: Rufus Thomas (vocals); The Memphis Horns (horns); Marvell Thomas, Booker T. Jones (keyboards); Donald "Duck" Dunn (bass guitar); Ollie & the Nightingales (background vocals).
The fact that ex-vaudeville entertainer and 1960s soul star Rufus Thomas is a direct link to the minstrel shows of the late-19th and early-20th century is perhaps best displayed in this entry in the STAX PROFILES series by his hit "Do the Funky Chicken," a dazzling blend of 19th century showmanship and late-'60s street funk. As well as perhaps his most famous hit, "Walking the Dog," other songs that illustrate Thomas's deep roots in R&B's distant past include the faux-Indian chants of his version of "Sixty Minute Man," and the rolling '50s R&B of "Strolling Beale Number 1."

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating:
Based on 2 ratings.
Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!

Similar Products

Music Categories:
Get Email Alerts for Rufus Thomas

Product Info

  • Sales Rank: 70,596
  • UPC: 025218862028
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-10pm, Weekends: 10am-9pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)